Challenges · Words to Live By

Writer’s Quote Wednesday- Down the Rabbit Hole

 

lewis carroll

This week I chose an excerpt from one of my favorite books- Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. Carroll was born Charles Lutwidge Dodgson on January 27, 1832. He wrote under the pseudonym, Lewis Carroll, best known as the creator of Alice and the Mad Hatter. I read this book over and over when I was growing up and I still have my original copy- although the pages are quite yellow and the cover is torn. Yes, I love this book!

IMG_3134
My very own copy of Alice’s Adventures

“Begin at the beginning….and go on till you come to the end: then end.”

If only it was that simple, right? Sometimes when I begin writing it’s like falling down the rabbit hole. I think I know where the story is heading and then the next thing I know there’s a White Rabbit and I’m crashing a tea party with the Mad Hatter. The end product is the results of the trip I took to get there.

Reading Alice time and time again developed a lifelong love of the story and anything to do with those characters. I am a fan of the Disney animated movie, along with the 2010 version that takes Alice back to Wonderland years later.

The book also inspired many interesting songs, many of which appear on my favorites playlist. “White Rabbit” by Jefferson Airplane is probably the most well known.

And then, setting aside the book, movies, and music, my son, Andrew appeared in two different musical productions of Alice in Wonderland when he was 12 and 13. This only made me love all things Alice even more.

Andrew as White Rabbit. (Loved that tail!)
Andrew as White Rabbit. (Loved that tail!)

I love that all of this blossomed from Lewis Carroll’s stories made up for a little girl named Alice. How cool is it that he wrote that book 150 years ago not knowing that his characters would live on in movies, tv shows, art and music! A true sign that anything is possible and it can all begin with the written word!

Thank you to Colleen at Silver Threading for hosting Writer’s Quote Wednesday!

writers-quote-wed-20151