Approaching the Sea of Swirly Twirly Gumdrops

elf-journey

I love the movie, Elf, starring Will Ferrell, James Caan and Zooey Deschanel. It was released in 2003 and my kids were at the perfect ages- 13, 10, and 8- for this movie. They had grown too old for the classics- Rudolph and Frosty- but I have high standards for what I deem quality Christmas viewing and nothing was making the grade.

And then Elf came out.

It was an immediate with the entire family and made its place on our favorites list after one viewing.

And it arrived at the perfect time. It renewed my love of Christmas. I love everything about this movie and so do my kids. Just recently, Andrew texted me that he was going “through the Lincoln Tunnel” and that launched an exchange that made me smile all day.

There was another time when that same quote saved us during a stressful time. Andrew and I were driving to New York City to visit music schools. It was our first time there and we were driving in NYC during rush hour and as the sun was at that dangerous level where it’s peeking just under the visor, blinding you. I have driven in downtown Chicago for 30 years so I have experience with big city driving but this was extreme! As I was swearing and ranting, getting beeped at by cars and yelled at by pedestrians, I was seconds away from stopping the car, getting out and walking away- right in the middle of Times Square- which was nowhere near where we were supposed to be! I can only imagine what thoughts were going through Andrew’s head, besides dreading spending the rest of the week with me. In his quiet steady voice he said, “Maybe next time we should come in through the Lincoln Tunnel.”

That was all I needed. It diverted my attention from the chaos outside the car and we started listing out all the places that Buddy visited in the movie, discussing which ones we might get to see.

I wrote about an experience I had last year, which always brings a smile to my face when I think about it in the post- I’m Singing

Seven year old C.J. loves the movie and has been asking to watch it since June. Because he’s growing up in an era of instant gratification, I’ve told him that Elf is a movie that is only to be viewed at Christmas time. After Thanksgiving last week, I asked him if he knew what holiday was coming next and of course, he knew. “Do you know what movie we can watch now?” I asked.

His face split into the widest grin and he nodded. “I wonder if Beej will like it!” His little brother just turned two years old. I smiled back, “I’m sure he will.”

As a parent…..as a mom, this time of year is especially exhausting. The pace is frenzied. There is so much going on. Decorating, shopping, Santa, baking, social functions, relatives…. it’s a lot. (And as an introvert, well, I’m not even going there!) But taking the time to slow down and sit with my family, laughing at the same things we are entertained by every year (“I just like to smile. Smiling’s my favorite.”) is a priceless tradition. It fills my heart and soul and I wouldn’t miss it for the world.

There is a part of me that is taking deep breaths and trying to mentally prepare myself. The seven levels of the Candy Cane Forest weren’t too bad but you know what’s next, right?

“Buddy the Elf. What’s your favorite color?”

“You sit on a throne of lies.”

“Francisco. That’s fun to say. Francisco.”

“Deb, you have such a pretty face you should be on a Christmas card.”

“I’m sorry I ruined your lives and crammed eleven cookies into the VCR.”

“I’m singing. I’m in a store and I’m singing.” 

There are so many more quotes I could share but I’ll stop here.

Do you have a favorite Elf quote?

 

2 thoughts on “Approaching the Sea of Swirly Twirly Gumdrops

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

