Time in a Bottle

I don’t dance. This might come as a shock to you if you read my post about teen Kat putting on basement performances way back but it’s true. I’m way too self-conscious and clumsy to enjoy dancing so it should come to no surprise to you that I don’t have your standard “first dance” story.

My first dance with my future husband took place at his best friend’s wedding, where he was doing duty as the best man. Me, as old friend of the groom and best man’s future intended, was so inconsequential that I did not even receive a seat at the reception. No lie. As I searched the place cards with guests’ names and table numbers on them, mine was nowhere to be found. My husband was very busy doing best man stuff and I didn’t know where to turn. Lucky for me, I would be marrying into a kind, welcoming family and upon hearing that I had nowhere to sit, they scooted closer together and found me a chair, a place setting and a place to feel welcome at their already full table. And when the dancing began, they insisted I dance so dance I did- with my future husband’s father and brother. I even ended up dancing with my old friend, the groom. And all of these dances took place before I ever shared a dance with my husband. That wedding remains a blur in my memory and the songs are long forgotten.

The one song I will never forget is the first dance my husband and I shared at our wedding to Jim Croce’s Time in a Bottle. Croce wrote the song after finding out that his wife was pregnant in 1970. Sadly, he was killed in a plane crash in 1973 before this song became his second #1 hit.

This post is inspired by Hugh’s 51 Weeks: 51 Songs From the Past: Week 38. where he talks about a song that says “first dance” to him.

51-weeks-51-songs-from-the-past

Thanks for stopping in!

-Kat

 

 

7 thoughts on “Time in a Bottle

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

