51 Weeks: 51 Songs From the Past: Week 22: Don and Al

I’ve missed more than a few weeks now but I’m jumping back into Hugh’s 51 Weeks: 51 Songs From the Past: Week 22 with Don McClean’s- “American Pie.” This 1971 song was also known as “The Day the Music Died” referring to February 3, 1959 when American singers Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens and J.P Richardson “The Big Bopper”, were killed in a plane crash along with their pilot.

I grew up listening to this song and although it was sad, I liked it. And then we reached the year- 1999- and the way I heard the song changed forever. Do you have any idea where I’m headed with this? Let me give you a hint- and if you don’t know immediately, you probably just won’t know until I tell you.

“WEIRD AL” YANKOVIC-

Weird Al is an American singer, songwriter, parodist, and more! In 1999, he released a parody of Star Wars Episode 1- The Phantom Menace, 

Set to the tune of “American Pie,” “The Saga Begins” recounts the plot of Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace, from Obi-Wan Kenobi’s point of view. Yankovic gathered most of the information he needed to write the song from Internet spoilers.[2] Although Lucasfilm declined a request for an advance screening, Yankovic eventually attended a costly pre-screening for charity.[2] He had done such an accurate job with the story line that after the pre-screening, he ended up making only very minor alterations.[2]

McLean approved of the song and,[2] according to Yankovic, also has said that his children played it so much that “he’d start thinking about Jedis and Star Wars, and it would mess him up” in concert.[3] According to Yankovic’s official website, Lucasfilms’ official response to the song was, “You should’ve seen the smile on (George Lucas’) face.”[4] This is the second Star Wars song Weird Al has created, with the first being 1985’s “Yoda”, a parody of “Lola” by The Kinks. 

                                                                                                                                -Wikipedia

“A long, long time ago
In a galaxy far away
Naboo was under an attack
And I thought me and Qui-Gon Jinn
Could talk the federation into
Maybe cutting them a little slack
But their response, it didn’t thrill us
They locked the doors and tried to kill us”

Sorry, I got carried away. I just knew that I couldn’t share “American Pie” without including “The Saga Begins.”

“A long, long time ago
In a galaxy far away
Naboo was under an attack
And I thought me and Qui-Gon Jinn
Could talk the federation into
Maybe cutting them a little slack
But their response, it didn’t thrill us
They locked the doors and tried to kill us”

Much thanks to both Don McClean and Weird Al for creating two very different and yet both very entertaining songs!

-Kat

5 thoughts on “51 Weeks: 51 Songs From the Past: Week 22: Don and Al

  1. Love what you have done here, Kat. They may have been 40 years apart, but how different they are.I guess it’s just the ‘sign of the times’ at the time somebody comes up with an idea for a song. You’ve got me thinking of other similarities now. There must be many more hidden gems out there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, these are good ones! I always liked the Don McLean’s song, especially since Buddy Holly is from here, our home town. …Weird Al … what can you say… I love all his parody songs, and this is a great one! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

