Grabbing Onto a Me Day

I woke up this morning prepared to face the day. I had a plan. I had a list. I was ready to go.

And then the first thing on my list stalled me-

The printer decided it had a paper jam. (There was none- I checked…….TWICE.) I did all the right things, powered things off and on, opened and closed things, removed and replaced things….and still the ERROR light flashed at me angrily and insistently.

I weighed my options as my husband offered remote tech support. This definitely delayed my well organized list. And it stopped me dead in my tracks because the very first errand on that list needed something printed to be completed.

Then my husband texted me words that were music to my ears…. or make that my eyes. We have been in the middle of a project outside of our house for what feels like forever now. It has been disruptive and intrusive and I have struggled with this, trying to keep my anxiety and aggravation in check. Well, unexpectedly there would be no work today. And that meant QUIET!

And so I scanned my list. Also looking at the rest of my week told me that if I did not grab this day, I might not get one until -July…. (College kids, toddlers, seven year olds out for the summer all lurked on the horizon beginning in three short days….) Did I need to do these things today? Could they wait 24 hours? Could I take advantage of this unexpected day of solitude and silence and freedom?

It appeared I could! And I did!

So, what did I do with this day?

  • I wrote a post.
  • I read other’s posts.
  • I worked on my pseudo sort of bullet journal.
  • I assessed one of my projects for our kitchen update.
  • I charged the battery on my “new” camera and took some outdoor shots.
  • I completed a project that I had promised a friend and arranged delivery.
  • I worked in silence.
  • I stretched out and watched a few episodes of my latest Netflix binge watch- Private Practice.
  • I worked on future blog post ideas.
  • I danced it out (Meredith Grey style- but in my own clumsy Kat-like style). I confess that Ari looked away in embarrassment on my behalf……

  • I counted down the hours until I meet my bestie, Diane, for a much needed girls night out.

There are so many things I could have done if I wasn’t going to complete the day’s original list. Dishes, laundry, preparing Kris’s room for their arrival, cleaning cleaning cleaning….

But I needed this day. I don’t regret a single moment of it because it has charged my batteries, renewed my energy and lifted my spirits. And although the day would have been perfectly fine if I had continued on my list of errands and tasks, it wouldn’t have been the same.

What do you do when you find yourself unexpectedly alone with time?

Have a great one!

-Kat

4 thoughts on “Grabbing Onto a Me Day

  1. Hi Kat, it’s great that you took some time for you. I have a “reminder” stuck to my door (attributed to T S Eliot) that says: “Time you enjoyed wasting is not wasted time”. I try to take that to heart as much as I possibly can. After all, I will never get that time back, so I may as well use it the best way that makes me happy – and sometimes doing the “necessary” things does not make me happy, and sometimes it does.

    Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

