51 Weeks: 51 Songs From the Past: Week 10: Bay City Rollers- Saturday Night

After reading Hugh’s 51 Weeks: 51 Songs From The Past: Week 10: Whigfield – Saturday Night, this song immediately came to mind.

The Bay City Rollers are a Scottish pop group. Their popularity peaked during the mid-70’s.  This group was formed in 1966 and originally went by The Saxons. They changed their name to the Bay City Rollers after throwing a dart at a US map, with the dart landing near Bay City, Michigan.

Saturday Night was originally released in 1973, not making the UK charts. With a different lead singer, it was released in the US in 1975, topping the charts at #1 in January 1976. The song also reached the number one spot on Canadian charts.

This song would be the group’s only #1 song in the US, which would explain why it is the only song I recognize.

Being 11 when the song was released, I was still a little young for boy band crushes and didn’t really have a favorite Roller. I remember reading about the Bay City Rollers in Tiger Beat magazine- my all time favorite magazine for many years but something tells me that I probably thumbed past those pages in search of anything about Leif Garrett,  John Travolta, Shaun Cassidy or Scott Baio.

51-weeks-51-songs-from-the-past

 

6 thoughts on “51 Weeks: 51 Songs From the Past: Week 10: Bay City Rollers- Saturday Night

    1. It’s funny because this song came to mind immediately upon hearing yours, but then as I researched the group more and poked around I kept shaking my head- no, don’t remember that- no, that doesn’t ring a bell- nope, not familiar…. The more I think about it, the more I believe I remember them more from being in my Tiger Beat magazines! lol

      Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

