51 Weeks: 51 Songs From the Past: Week 9: R.E.M.- It’s the End of the World as We Know It (And I Feel Fine)

So, if you don’t know Hugh from Hugh’s Views & News, you missed out on one of the most unusual songs that I have ever heard. Every week Hugh shares a song in his feature- 51 Weeks:51 Songs From the Past. This week’s song- Mouldy Old Dough– takes the cake. The song on its own is quite original but when the visual of the video is added in- well, you need to head over to Hugh’s place to see for yourself. It’s all so ??? that I love it!

This week I am sharing a song that I sing every morning- R.E.M.’s It’s the End of the World as We Know It (and I Feel Fine). R.E.M. is an American rock band formed in 1980. It’s the End of the World as We Know It (and I Feel Fine) was released in 1987. The band was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2007, their first year of eligibility and parted ways in 2011. I was surprised to find out that R.E.M. had been around that long, and especially that this song was 30 years old!

 

ari
Here is Ari, with her ear giving away her interest in the song she knows and loves.  

As I mentioned, I sing this song every morning. No, I’m not predicting doom and gloom- just letting Ari know that I understand her despair. One thing that was very clear when we adopted Ari was that she had gone hungry. After nearly 6 years living with us, she still acts as if every meal is her last. (She has not missed a single meal in our care, except when she was under the weather- and then it was by her choice.) BUT every morning, rain or shine, before I can even get downstairs, Ari is carrying on as if “it’s the end of the world as we know it…”

I consider it to be Ari’s Anthem. I’m sure she agrees.

51-weeks-51-songs-from-the-past

4 thoughts on “51 Weeks: 51 Songs From the Past: Week 9: R.E.M.- It’s the End of the World as We Know It (And I Feel Fine)

  1. Great choice, Kat. I know the song, although have not heard it for a while. I love the connection you have given to Ari. Her ears are almost as big as Toby’s. He can hear the fridge being opened from miles away.
    Keep on singing, cause singing gives positive vibes to those around you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Hugh! Yes, Ari doesn’t miss a thing with those ears. She often alerts us to things we could never possibly hear. 🙂

      I’m not sure how much pleasure my singing might give to those around me but Ari and little Beej don’t seem to mind. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

