5 Minutes

16649581_10156031510960620_1851541633109573615_n

You might see this image, or something similar, on social media from time to time. It is a heart consisting of transgender colors and a black ribbon- in memory of a transgender life lost.

Yesterday another transgender teenager lost their life to suicide. I won’t be sharing any other information regarding this out of respect and consideration for the family members. My heart aches unbearably for this child’s family and friends. I am mourning their tragic loss.

Unfortunately, this happens too often. The constant worry is very legitimate and quite real. I originally wrote the following post in October 2015.

If you are familiar with the LGBT community, then you might have heard about the alarming statistics that accompany a person who falls in the T (Transgender) category. If you are unfamiliar with the T, the most basic definition is a person whose gender identity does not match their physical body. In my child’s case, Kris was born assigned female but does not identify as such.

Depending on the source, you’ll read that 40% (give or take a percent or two) of all transgender people will attempt to take their own life. It’s sobering. Especially when you consider that the national average is somewhere around 4%. It’s something that, as the parent of transgender person, remains in the back of my mind at all times. It lurks there in the darkest corner- the fear of losing my child. Each time I read one of those heartbreaking stories of a loss…

View original post 1,006 more words

7 thoughts on “5 Minutes

  1. Kat, this is painful. I reflect on the darkness of my own trans child during their teen years. There was no real trans awareness back then, and they hadn’t openly identified as trans at that point. The worry over suicide was present for them then and will never truly go away. God bless the grieving family. @-}——

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “The worry over suicide was present for them then and will never truly go away. ”
      Exactly- I can’t tell you how many times I’ve asked my husband or sons- “Have you heard from Kris?” Sometimes I’m not even aware that I’ve checked my phone to verify that I’ve heard from them recently.

      Every loss hits so hard. I think as parents of trans kids we know how lucky we are to have our kids and how it could be us in the blink of an eye. Sometimes people don’t understand what it’s like to have this worry- it’s always there even when you’re not thinking about it.

      Liked by 2 people

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

