51 Weeks: 51 Songs from the Past: Week 6: George Harrison- When We Was Fab

When Hugh first introduced his new feature- 51 Weeks: 51 Songs from the Past, being a music lover, I was looking forward to it. I immediately began running through an endless list of songs that I could possibly share. What I did not realize was that some of those songs would take me on a journey. Although I have a growing list of songs that I’m considering, none of them felt right for this week.

And then Ringo Starr came to mind. A few years ago I began digging a little deeper into the Beatles’ lives post Beatles, specifically their music. Ringo’s music is….. well, it’s Ringo. It can be fun to listening (and sometimes not quite so) but it’s Ringo and he’s the King of Cool in my eyes so it’s all good. Originally I had planned to feature “I’m the Greatest”, a song written by John Lennon and performed by Ringo. I began doing a little background on the song and began looking at other songs the individual Beatles wrote about the group after they broke up.  It turns out that they all wrote a number of songs about their Beatles days and each other. And somewhere along the way, I ended up here—-

For anyone who knows me, they might be surprised to find that the first Beatle sighting in 51 Weeks: 51 Songs from the Past is George Harrison and his 1987 song- When We Was Fab. It was written after the Beatles split up.

The video is almost more interesting than the song. It’s definitely unique! And as George gives background on the song in the introduction, I will let him speak for himself.

George was much more than the quiet Beatle. While you might be familiar with his connections to Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton and The Concert for Bangladesh, did you know that he also had associations with Hells’ Angels, Phil Collins, Monty Python and former U.S.President Gerald Ford? I stumbled onto this Rolling Stone article with shares some interesting (perhaps) little known things about George-

10 Things You Didn’t Know George Harrison Did

“I am not really Beatle George. Beatle George is like a suit or shirt that I once wore on occasion, and until the end of my life people may see that shirt and mistake it for me.” -George Harrison

 51-weeks-51-songs-from-the-past

Do you have a favorite George song- either Beatles or non-Beatles? “Something” has always been a favorite- long before I even knew who sang it!

Happy Saturday!

-Kat

Please excuse the typos- I have proofread this and updated it 5 times since publishing it. My brain is out to lunch right now.

9 thoughts on “51 Weeks: 51 Songs from the Past: Week 6: George Harrison- When We Was Fab

    1. I wasn’t sure if George had anymore videos like this one so I started to poke around. After climbing out of the rabbit hole that I fell into head first, while he seems to have some unique music videos, this seems to be the only one of his directed by Kevin Godley and Lol Creme, who formed their own music duo after splitting from 10cc and subsequently went on to make music videos.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Great post! My hubby and I love the Beatles! He could tell you his favorite George song, I know the songs, but don’t know who did them 🙂 My mind is getting sleepy now, but will come back tomorrow and tell you favorite song. I am getting their songs mixed up with the Beach Boys now and The Hollies. LOL!

    Liked by 2 people

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

