51 Weeks: 51 Songs from the Past: Week 5: Time for Me to Fly- REO Speedwagon

We are already on Week 5 of Hugh’s 51 Weeks: 51 Songs from the Past and I didn’t know I was going to share this song until it popped into my head and grabbed hold of my heart, just as it did back in 1978 when it was first released. “Time for Me to Fly” was the 2nd song on REO Speedwagon’s You Can Tune a Piano, But You Can’t Tune a Fish.

If ever there was a song that a love struck teenage girl could fully embrace, it was “Time for Me to Fly.” Whenever and wherever she was when this song began playing, girls everywhere would instantly become quiet, introspective, wistful and heartbroken as they were instantly transported to the state of lost love. This song defined my teen years- the highs and lows of crushes, boyfriends, near-boyfriends, boys you walk by and hope will just make eye contact giving you a high that lasts all day…..and break ups.

I included two different videos. The first has the lyrics (which you really don’t need to listen to the song because the words are sung perfectly clear) but being a studio recording, it’s better quality. The second is a live performance, if you prefer a more real experience.

Listening to this makes me want to flip through our CD’s and see if this one made it into our collection. There are so many REO songs that I loved listening and singing along with, but before I go, I’ll leave you with one bonus video- (it’s worth the watch just to see lead singer, Kevin Cronin’s way cool jumpsuit…..)

“Don’t Let Him Go”

Thanks for listening!

-Kat

51-weeks-51-songs-from-the-past

8 thoughts on “51 Weeks: 51 Songs from the Past: Week 5: Time for Me to Fly- REO Speedwagon

  1. Like Barbara, I’ve not heard the song before, Kat. However, I can totally see where you are coming from with regards the lyrics and heartbreak. I know we don’t like to admit it, but as boys go through the same thing, although usually on our own. We like to think we’re Superman or maybe James Bond, but deep down inside…oh those love pains. And what a song for, this, the month of Valentine.
    Thanks for another introduction to a song I’d never have heard if it weren’t here on your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Having raised a couple teenage boys, I’m familiar with their brand of teen angst. Lol It is funny that they are more like girls than they realize (or would ever want to admit.)

      Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

