On the Edge

img_4443
Looking out at the river from the pier’s edge- May 2016

“I want to stand as close to the edge as I can without going over. Out on the edge you see all kinds of things you can’t see from the center.” -Kurt Vonnegut

img_4453
Creek running under the bridge- May 2016

I am definitely not a “live life on the edge” kind of person. You can see from the pictures above that I am content to view the world a safe distance away from the edge. As I looked through photographs looking something suitable for this prompt, it struck me how much I prefer to have my feet planted firmly on the ground.

Some people love to live on the edge. They seem to thrive and grow as they teeter on that precarious edge.

Those people tend to drain the life out of me. They can be great fun but for me, in much smaller doses.

“When one jumps over the edge, one is bound to land somewhere.” -D. H. Lawrence

Don’t get me wrong- I have ventured close to the edge a time or two in my lifetime. (I did not like it.) Fear of the unknown plays part in my dislike. I will admit that. But there is more to it. Sometimes it’s not fear- just a lack of interest. Do I really need to “know” those things that I haven’t experienced if I have no desire to know them? I think that there are things that I might have gained when I was younger, if I had lived (or just ventured occasionally) closer to the edge.

My view from a few feet back can be pleasant. It is often quite revealing. I’ve learned so much about human nature, observed so many details and nuances that would have been missed if I had been standing at the edge, ready to jump. And it is those many tiny things that energize me and motivate me. They feed my creativity.

And so I will continue to stand back here and keep an eye on things. If I’m curious, or so moved, I might take a few steps closer to the edge to get a better look.

(But not too close.)

Thanks for stopping by!

-Kat

This post is in response to the Weekly Photo Challenge: Edge.

7 thoughts on “On the Edge

  1. Such a thoughtful interpretation of this week’s challenge, and I love the thoughts you raise about living life on the edge, living dangerously. “Do I really need to “know” those things that I haven’t experienced if I have no desire to know them?” Such a good question. The answer can be certainly no. As you said, you observed so much more when you stood back. When we go slow and take time to go about where we want to go on the straight path, we learn to be more appreciative of the things around us.

    Lately I’ve been putting myself out there and trying new things, like going to the edge of a tall hill and exploring the countryside when dark clouds are overhead. I do get an adrenalin rush from all of this but I do admit that it does get physically and emotionally taxing after a while 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Mabel, thanks for commenting. I tend to have the same reaction when I put myself out there. Although it might be thrilling at the time, it takes so much out of me. I’m definitely not one of those people who thrive by living on the edge. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this! I think I’m the same when it comes to the ‘edge’. Just this morning I posted this poem:

    Come to the edge, he said.
    We can’t, we’re afraid, they responded.
    Come to the edge, he said.
    We can’t, we will fall, they responded.
    Come to the edge, he said.
    And so they came.
    And he pushed them.
    And they flew.

    ~ Christopher Logue (1926-2011)

    (https://meinthemiddlewrites.com/)

    Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

