Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Week 27- Vintage

I have to admit that I had a moment of panic as I typed in the title of this post. I was fairly confident that it was week 27 but I’ve been so hit or miss lately, it was quite possible that I missed a week or two…. You can imagine my relief when I clicked over to Hugh’s place and saw that I hadn’t lost track of too much time.

I’m very excited about Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Vintage.  I have the oddest assortment of collections of vintage treasures. My obsession began when I realized that my mother had given her Pyrex to my sister. I became determined to find my own set and along the way I gained more Pyrex acquisitions than I can comfortably admit. I moved on to Texas-ware melamine dishes and Bolero thermo-ware cups. I have a collection of old clocks on my fireplace mantle…. if I wrote about vintage household items, I could write a series of posts to end all series!

We just struck gold at an estate sale this morning and I found a beautiful antique table for my work-in-progress hideaway and a desk that will fit perfectly under the window. So, suffice it to say I was thrilled at Hugh’s prompt for this week.

IMG_4735

I found this sweet little lady at an antique mall and it was love at first sight. She is a holder of some sort but I’m not sure what. When I saw her, I knew she would be the perfect pen/pencil holder for my future writing spot.

And because I couldn’t stop at just one photo, here are two sets of salt and pepper shakers I found.

IMG_4742

Now, if anyone can tell me where I can find affordable Holt Howard Pixieware…..

11 thoughts on “Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Week 27- Vintage

  1. Great vintage pieces, Kat! Don’t you just love browsing through flea markets and antique malls? We did that last weekend. Do you have a display case for your S & Ps? I’d like to have someplace to show mine, but they are all packed away for now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the sweet lady pen holder, Kat, and would love to know her history. Is there a makers mark and do you know how old the item is? The colours are amazing and I would have had to have purchased her if I had been at that sale before you. I’ve never seen salt and pepper pots quite like those. Ours tend to be made of glass or stoneware. Maybe I haven’t been looking close enough for them?
    Good luck in your hunt for the Pixieware.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There are no marks, which makes it difficult to pinpoint an age. I’ve searched online for others who look like her and the ones who look close date between 1940-1970’s. I’m going to keep looking…. 🙂

      The wooden s & p shakers are from the 50’s and seem to be everywhere I go (in antique shops) lately. I collected salt and pepper shakers growing up so they’ve always been something I’m interested in. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I saw that exactl salt and pepper set last week at a new vintage store In our historic downtown area. It was hard to walk away from it, but I’d already made several other purchases. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. These were a steal and I just couldn’t pass them up. I’ve wanted a pair but couldn’t justify the cost… but both pairs were less than $5 so how could I resist? 🙂

      Like

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

