Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Week 25- Music

andrew

I remember back when my youngest, Andrew, was just the little brother of 2 older siblings who played woodwinds- clarinet/alto sax and clarinet/bass clarinet. He spent most of his early years being dragged to Michael’s and Kris’s events and he was a good sport. When he was around 7 years old, the older kids’ band director asked him, “So, what instrument are you going to play?” (Spoken like a true band director, please note- not “Are you going to play?” but “What are you going to play?”)

Andy considered the question and then gave his answer. “Something shiny and brass.” When he came home from band recruitment at the beginning of 5th grade, he proudly presented a certificate declaring him a trombone player. I was done with the whole “reed” experience so I was already hoping for ANYTHING that did not require a reed. I had no clue what we were in for with a budding trombonist in the house. Leave it to my quietest child to choose the loudest instrument.

I grew to love the sound of the trombone and especially that of my son playing. I learned to recognize his distinctive sound in a full orchestra. Andrew just completed his second year in one of the country’s top music schools. The photo above was taken at his recital this year. My quiet and gentle child continues to awe me and fill me with pride as he makes his mark in the world with his larger (and louder) than life talent.

This post is in response to Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Week 25- Music.

 

2 thoughts on “Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Week 25- Music

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

