X is for …….

Blogging From A to Z Challenge: X or as I’m calling it Wild Card Day

The Impossible Dream- Man of La Mancha– Composed by Mitch Leigh/Lyrics by Joe Darion

“To dream … the impossible dream …
To fight … the unbeatable foe …
To bear … with unbearable sorrow …
To run … where the brave dare not go …
To right … the unrightable wrong …
To love … pure and chaste from afar …
To try … when your arms are too weary …
To reach … the unreachable star …

This is my quest, to follow that star …
No matter how hopeless, no matter how far …
To fight for the right, without question or pause …
To be willing to march into Hell, for a Heavenly cause …

And I know if I’ll only be true, to this glorious quest,
That my heart will lie will lie peaceful and calm,
when I’m laid to my rest …
And the world will be better for this:
That one man, scorned and covered with scars,
Still strove, with his last ounce of courage,
To reach … the unreachable star …”

Today (or actually three days ago) is X. After searching time and again, I kept coming back to Xanadu sung by Olivia Newton-John and to be honest, I don’t really have anything to say about it.

So I declared it Wild Card Day! Yay!

And I chose this song because I really did want to use it in this challenge- either for I or T, but didn’t because I really wanted to use the songs I did on those days.

The Impossible Dream is a song written for Man of La Mancha, the musical version of Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes. The clip I chose is from the 1972 movie adaptation.

This song has always been special to me because I grew up listening to my dad sing it. In recent years the lyrics have held an even deeper meaning as I’ve been along for Kris’s amazing journey. These words especially speak to me because so much of the time I feel like I’m on a quest, fighting for Kris’s right to live his life the same as everyone else. Everyone is on a quest, fighting their own dragons. Some days we win. Some days we end the day weary with defeat. Either way, this song always gives me the strength to keep fighting.

“This is my quest, to follow that star …
No matter how hopeless, no matter how far …
To fight for the right, without question or pause …
To be willing to march into Hell, for a Heavenly cause …”

A2Z-BADGE 2016-smaller_zpslstazvib

One thought on “X is for …….

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

