V is for “Valley Girl”

Blogging From A to Z Challenge: V

Valley Girl-  Moon Unit Zappa and Frank Zappa- 1982

Do you remember this song? Frank Zappa’s daughter, Moon Unit, made this song a major hit in 1982. While some of those phrases (or valspeak, as it was called) managed to creep into my vocabulary, the exaggerated (and incredibly annoying) inflection did not. valley girlThe two that come quickly to mind are “no biggie”and “totally”. My sister, along with her friends, embraced this way of speaking to such an extent that to this day she still sprinkles her dialogue heavily with “like” and I doubt she will ever shake it.

And it’s funny to think that today’s OMG evolved from “Oh my god!”- or ohmygaaaad (But if you aren’t saying it quickly, running your words together with the drawn out ending, you’re doing it wrong.)

I admit to singing the song along with the rest because it was admittedly a fun song to sing. But I also have to confess that being around all those little valley girl wannabees got old really fast.

So- fess up? Are you guilty of slipping a “gag me with a spoon” or “barf out” into your conversations a short 30+ years ago? (I won’t tell anyone, fer sure, no way!)

A2Z-BADGE 2016-smaller_zpslstazvib

2 thoughts on “V is for “Valley Girl”

    1. What really cracks me up is that occasionally people I know (who are old like me lol) will say “gag me” and probably not really give it any thought. (I might actually say it, now that I think about it!)

      Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

