T is for “Time of My Life”

Blogging From A to Z Challenge: T

(I’ve Had) The Time of My Life– Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnes

This song is best known for being the theme song for the 1987 film Dirty Dancingstarring Patrick Swayze (sigh) and Jennifer Grey. There is so much I love about Dirty Dancing. Patrick Swayze. The music. The setting- I wanted so badly to go there. Johnny and Baby together. Baby’s awkwardness. Johnny’s hotness. Baby giggling every time Johnny ran his hand down her side. Sylvia and Mickey. The ending. And did I mention Patrick Swayze?

Some of my favorites Dirty Dancing quotes include:

  • “I carried a watermelon.” – Baby
  • “Oh, come on, ladies. God wouldn’t have given you maracas if He didn’t want you to shake ’em.” -Penny
  • “You just put your pickle on everybody’s plate, college boy, and leave the hard stuff to me.” -Johnny
  • “I’m scared of everything. I’m scared of what I saw, I’m scared of what I did, of who I am, and most of all I’m scared of walking out of this room and never feeling the rest of my whole life the way I feel when I’m with you.” -Baby
  • “Where is my beige iridescent lipstick?” -Lisa
  • “Look, spaghetti arms. This is my dance space. This is your dance space. I don’t go into yours, you don’t go into mine. You gotta hold the frame.” -Johnny
  • “Have you had many women?” -Baby
  • “Nobody puts Baby in a corner.” -Johnny
  • “Sorry for the interruption, folks, but I always do the last dance of the season. This year somebody told me not to. So I’m gonna do my kind of dancin’ with a great partner, who’s not only a terrific dancer, but somebody… who’s taught me… that there are people willing to stand up for other people no matter what it costs them. Somebody who’s taught me about the kind of person I wanna be. Miss Frances Houseman.” -Johnny

How about you? What are your favorite Dirty Dancing memories?

A2Z-BADGE 2016-smaller_zpslstazvib

3 thoughts on “T is for “Time of My Life”

  1. Smiling big at this post! I too LOVE Dirty Dancing and was sure to show it to my girls! Just one of those movies you can’t forget. mean who really can’t forget Patrick Swayze 🙂 I remember another great quote, Can’t remember exact words but when Baby is getting frustrated with Johnny telling her how to do everything as he is trying to teach her and she’s like, All I really want to do is drop you on your ass! After that is when they went outside to the lake to practice 🙂 Thanks for the memory.

    Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

