Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Week 22- Group

musicians 2012

 

I’m sitting here listening to a CD that Andrew burned of arrangements he wrote. I’m feeling nostalgic.

I spent 13 years listening to my kids perform in various ensembles- from Concert, Jazz and Symphonic Bands to Wind and Brass Ensembles, quartets and solos. The majority of my time was spent driving kids to rehearsals or sitting at concerts. With Andrew being a hardcore musician, the last 7 years were especially hectic, filled with performances every month.

I spent a lot of time looking at my kids on a stage filled with other kids who were dressed identically and most of the time seemed to have the same hair color. I came to recognize different quirks each of my children exhibited.

Michael hid. He was the master of positioning himself just out of sight behind a music stand or the person next to him. The only time he was not able to disappear was when he was in jazz band, and then he was front row and almost center. (He did not like that although he loved jazz band.)

Kris was always looking for us. The entire time he was playing, his eyes would be darting around the audience until he ensured that we were there.

And then there was Andrew, the hardcore musician. We spent the most time watching him on the stage. I learned to recognize the expressions on his face and the roll of his head that he does for some unknown reason but is unique to him. He turned hiding from our camera into an art form, waiting until mere seconds before beginning to play to shift his chair and music stand, causing us to have to scramble to change our position to catch him on video or in a picture.

I miss that, as odd as it might sound.

For the past two years, I’ve had to content myself with seeing Andrew play when we are able to visit him at school, which has been twice a year.

I miss the driving to and from rehearsals. I miss the concerts. I miss hearing Andrew play in some very cool venues. I miss the sound of the trombone filling the house and drowning out the tv or my own music. I miss the never-ending saga of the lost black sock. I miss reading the programs from front to back. I miss doing some of my best writing under the cover of darkness during the concert. I miss it all.

And when I saw the prompt – Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Week 22- Group– the groups that came to mind were the many groups of musicians I’ve seen over the past 15 years.

2 thoughts on “Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Week 22- Group

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

