Q is for “(The) Question of U”

Blogging From A to Z Challenge:Q

The Question of U- Prince

I had another post written for Q but I wasn’t happy with it. The only Q song that came to mind was Que Sera Sera and I had already written a post about that song. I finally settled on a song but hadn’t posted it due to it not being that exciting or special to me in any way. And then I heard the news.

Prince died.

Quite naively I searched for a Q song by Prince and much to my surprise, I found this one. I’m not familiar with it but upon the first listen, I liked it. A lot. Finding a decent video of this song proved to be quite difficult despite claims that it was so well-known. I settled for the video of a ballet performing to the song.

I have been a big Prince fan dating back to the early 80’s.

But this song? How did I miss it? Upon closer inspection, I found that it was featured in the 1990 movie, Graffiti Bridge and the album by the same name and that explains part of the mystery. My first child was born in 1990. I missed most of 1990 because of that new baby fog that envelopes new moms.

A few months ago, I came across one of my two Purple Rain CDs that replaced my record album so many years ago. (Not sure why I have two!)image1 (2) It’s been in my car ever since. I went to see Prince’s Purple Rain concert in 1984 and it was amazing. I was 20 years old and although I am quite reserved and freaked out by crowds, I remember dancing, jumping up and down, screaming, and singing through the entire concert, much to my own surprise- as well as my boyfriend at that time. It took days for my voice to come back.

He was unique, incredibly talented, too young to be gone already and he will be missed.

A2Z-BADGE 2016-smaller_zpslstazvib
2 thoughts on “Q is for “(The) Question of U”

    1. Phew! Glad to hear it might not be just me. And yet, when I looked it up, people commenting on various videos talked about how much they liked it….. and I felt like I had missed something. 🙂

      Like

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

