A is for “Are We All We Are”

Today I kick off my 2nd year participating in the Blogging From A to Z Challenge. Last year I went into the challenge with very little knowledge about what it would require and about half way through I panicked. I hadn’t picked a theme, thinking that would be too limiting, despite countless posts from others more experienced than me stating that sticking with one topic for the entire month really did make it that much easier. This year, I decided to revisit the idea of a theme and jotted down a few things that I thought might work. Very quickly I saw what my theme needed to be this year- MUSIC!

What better way to begin the challenge than with an anthem by P!nk- Are We All We Are

“Seven seconds
Seven seconds
That is all the time you got to make your point
My attention, my attention’s like an infant tryin’ to crawl around this joint
I know I’m better than the masses
But we’re all followin’ our asses
And if our shit is not together
It’ll never be
You and me
Plant the seed
Open up and let it be
We are the people that you’ll never get the best of
Not forget the rest of (Rest of)”

I have three children- all grown (or so they think). My baby is now 20, with Kris in the middle at 23 and my oldest, 25. Early in my parenting years, a wise woman told me that I was my child’s first and best advocate- that if I wasn’t going to fight for him, who was? I took those words to heart and whenever I thought maybe I was “over” momming, her words would ring through my head and my heart and I would know that I was doing the right thing.

Having a child who falls under at least two letters under the LGBTQ umbrella, I have found myself to be somewhat of a reluctant advocate. While I considered myself to be supportive of the LGBTQ community, looking back I realize that I was sympathetic but also maybe a little indifferent. That changed when I realized that my child was part of that community. And I became an advocate not only because of the impact on my child’s life but also because it became obvious that many of these people were not being heard, especially the T’s. Very quickly this community wasn’t just nameless faces on tv or faceless names in articles. They were real, living breathing human beings. They were my kid. They were someone else’s kids or siblings or parents. And their rights were being violated, restricted, or obliterated and it wasn’t right.

Yesterday was Transgender Day of Visibility.  I didn’t write about it for a number of reasons. The first is two-fold. I was sick….really sick. And I had my dates mixed up so I thought it was the 30th yesterday. Very lame, I know! But the more important reason is quite simple. It’s great that there’s a day of visibility but these things should be common place. Trans people should be recognized as the human beings they are, along with the rights and acknowledgement given to anyone else.

This wasn’t how I planned on beginning the challenge. And I can promise you that a. every post will not be about advocacy or LGBTQ or even my kids and b. every post will not be this long.

Thanks for stopping by!

-Kat

A2Z-BADGE 2016-smaller_zpslstazvib

7 thoughts on “A is for “Are We All We Are”

  1. Big P!nk fan and I also have a trans child who is near and dear to my heart. She does not biologically belong to me, but she has been a part of our family for many years and we were among the first that she “came out” to about two years ago. Like you, I have always considered myself supportive but in a removed way. Watching someone I care deeply about try to navigate an often openly hostile world has certainly sharpened my perspective.

    Nice to “meet” a fellow A-Z challenger!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nice to meet you too! Going through this journey with Kris has really opened my eyes to an ugly side of people. No one should have to experience that. Trans kids are incredibly special and soooo brave, aren’t they? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

