Hugh’s Photo Challenge: Week 5 – Pair

When I took this picture back in March, I didn’t have a specific use for it. I thought I would use it in a post about my middle child, Kris, and I might still do that. But until that time, it fits the bill for this week’s –Hugh’s Photo Challenge: Week 5 – Pair.

Kris shoes

Just about 4 years ago our middle child changed his name to Christopher. A few months later he had modified the spelling to Kristoffer. I was not thrilled with the spelling change at the time and when he asked if he could create his own pair of Converse shoes for his 19th birthday, I was hesitant to agree to his name being part of the final design. My worry about people seeing and knowing his name subsided as I realized that most of the time you couldn’t even see it. The spelling grew on me. I do see Kris more as a Kristoffer than a Christopher. And I have to admit that it was money well spent because those shoes have gone everywhere with him and he was worn them year round for the past 3 years.

Thank you to Hugh for hosting his weekly photo challenge. If you would like to check out other entries and/or join in the fun, head over to Hugh’s blog- Hugh’s Views & News to get the details.

4 thoughts on “Hugh’s Photo Challenge: Week 5 – Pair

  1. They are a great pair of shoes, Kat. How neat with your own name on them as well. I’ve never seen shoes with a person’s own name on before. I remember my mother writing my name on the inside of my gym shoes when I was at school but nobody could see that unless I took them off. At least Kris has only changed the spelling of his name. I use my middle name instead of my first name but have found that many people seem to do the same.

    Thanks for participating in my photo challenge again. I’m glad you got to use that photo.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t seen anyone else with their name on their shoes but Converse offers it as an option. 🙂 I’m relieved that Kris didn’t change his name completely. Referring him to Chris was hard enough- I can’t imagine adjusting to a 3rd name for the same kid!!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

