Countdown to NaNoWriMo

Are you familiar with NaNoWriMo aka National Novel Writing Month? The idea is pretty straightforward. You write a novel (50,000 words) during the month of November. That comes down to 1667 words per day, give or take a word or two. That’s all there is to it. Sounds easy, right? If you’re shaking your head NO right now, you are familiar with the reality of writing 1667 words in one day…every day for 30 days.

Yesterday I signed up for my 6th year. I have only won (completed 50,000 words) once in my previous 5 tries. A few of those times I came closer than others. In all 5 years, I never actually finished the book I was writing. I’ve tried many different approaches- from planning and plotting everything out complete with inspiration all around me to just writing off the top of my head with a half formed idea in my head. The year that I won was the one where I was most prepared. The funny thing about that story is that as prepared as I was with characters and a slightly vague plot, it ended up not being the story I thought it was going to be.

My work space with the remainders of my old NaNo inspiration. Time for something new!
My work space with the remainders of my old NaNo inspiration. Time for something new!

For a few years since Kris came out as transgender, I wanted to write about the experience but was finding it difficult to know where to begin. It was that inability to find the words that was the impetus for beginning this blog. I hoped that the practice of writing about it would help me organize my thoughts and also get used to having someone read my writing. Also, for the past few years I considered using NaNo as the force to make me write about Kris. After careful consideration, I’ve decided that 2015 is that year.

I have just 5 days to prepare. I’m sharing my goals in an attempt to keep myself accountable. I realize that this will be more of a challenge than previous years because my house is much fuller than it has been in the past and this will require me to set aside committed writing time and locking the office door OR heading to the library to get it done.

Goals to be completed by 10/31:

  1. List 30 days of topics to write about.
  2. Gather inspiration and pictures from albums, print them out and replace the ones on the wall from 2012.
  3. Create writing playlist.
  4. Prepare the library bag with all writing supplies/water/snacks/headphones needed.
  5. Work on NaNo board on PinterestΒ for tips.
  6. Gather my tribe!

And so, it’s time for me to quit talking about it and get working on my goals. How about you? Are you a NaNo participant, past or present? Were you successful and if so, what do you think helped you reach that goal? I look forward to sharing war stories with you and if you’re looking for someone to cheer you on, I’m game! πŸ™‚

-Kat

28 thoughts on “Countdown to NaNoWriMo

  1. Have you started anything yet Kat? I am way behind. Had my grandson for the weekend and work so that took all my prep time. I am going to try and stay up and finish going through the prep videos and do the first step which is believe do the NaNo book outline.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Family craziness (and grandkids) prevented me from preparing much BUT today I was able to work on my character pictures and I’m writing. I’m behind on my word count but I’m going to keep writing today and try to catch up as much as possible. I think the important thing is to write something. It doesn’t have to be in order and it doesn’t have to be complete. If I panic, I’m going to write up character descriptions that can be part of the finished story. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think that doing anything is better than nothing. Some years I have had pretty low word counts but at least I tried!

        You’re buying a house right now? That will keep you busy too- in addition to everything else. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m very excited to join up this year. I have my writing ideas and a title for my book. I’ve been writing notes and looking at photos for inspiration. I’d love to be a supportive team mate for you too! I’m under my blog name Jsackmom

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I believe that I added you as a buddy on the NaNo site. Let me know if I didn’t. lol I’m actually trying to come up with a better way to connect with others in a group forum- like maybe a Facebook group. Got any ideas? I’m thinking of writing a post about it…..while I’m supposed to be writing my book!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. The very best of luck with it, Kat.

    Afraid I am not participating as I am way too busy with other things (I know it’s a lame excuse, but I really am). I’m enjoying blogging so much and am also in the process of putting together some new short stories for the book I am hoping to publish next year.

    Have fun with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I always find you a source of inspiration and motivation to get back on the “writing horse” so to speak. I think I am going to sign up this year. Na No board on Pinterist sounds like a good idea too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have signed up! Wow…I can’t believe I have done that. πŸ˜€ Now I will really have to try and write at least one of the three books sitting in my Word File. I have the first pages of three different stories. I keep changing the beginning, but the premise has stayed the same. I love your ideas for getting you motivated and going. I hope you don’t mind if I borrow some more. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yay!!! We can cheer each other on! πŸ™‚ The most important part is to just keep writing- even if it is crap and doesn’t make sense. If you can write through the tough times, it is definitely rewarding.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. There is a lot of help out there. And fellow NaNo people are really great! I also belong to a Facebook group for writers in the Chicagoland area. I still have some work to do- I changed my mind on my story this morning…..

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Thank you! I’m really trying to motivate myself…. πŸ™‚ It’s a challenge but I’m hoping I’m up for it this year. The Pinterest board is something I’ve always meant to do but didn’t really work on. This year I’m looking for more tips and motivation there. You should definitely give NaNo a try! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

