What I Learned This Summer

It’s been a long summer for me and it wasn’t until this week that I feel like I finally got the point of it all. Relatives, email attacks and apples missing carts. I’ve gone through more in the last 3 months than I did in the last 3 years but I’m a better person because of it. And although all those lessons I learned might seem cliche, each and every one resonates deeply with me.

  1. It’s easy to be a friend to someone during good times. It’s a true test of the strength of a friendship when one of you is going through a major life change.
  2. Sometimes people don’t turn out to be who you thought they were.
  3. Sometimes, when you aren’t getting the message about said people, you may be presented with endless examples to help you accept it.
  4. And sometimes everything you need to know is sitting right in front of you and you will clearly see it if you just clear your head and open your eyes.
  5. While so many people pride themselves on being “good”, the same people often don’t understand the importance about being kind.
  6. Just because you value something, that doesn’t mean someone else does.
  7. Loyalty is something to treasure.
  8. True friends are few and far between.
  9. You should take time, every day, to count your blessings.
  10. Love is all you need!

What about you? Did you learn anything new this summer?

11 thoughts on “What I Learned This Summer

  1. All of these are so so true. A lot of them also hard lessons to learn, but essential, and once you do I feel life comes a lot easier and becomes more peaceful. Or maybe that’s just me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I learned that vacations don’t need to be fancy as long as we see each other and find time for each other. I also learned that I can truly trust my dad, but that I don’t have anyone else. Yet. And last I learned that I can enjoy myself alone without crawling into the darkness ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You learned some major things! Think about it- knowing you can trust your dad is a big step. I think everything you’ve learned will help you keep moving forward and it’s something to draw on if you stumble.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It is too bad that we have to go through the painful things to learn some important lessons! I feel for you, but glad you found some good lessons out of the pain. I have had a rough summer too! In different ways, BUT the same lessons can be applied. AMEN to counting your blessings! And Love will get you through the Bend in the road and now I am singing that Beatles song, Love is all you need 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m struggling with the letting go part. Most of what I learned was things that I knew in general but when applied to closer people and circumstances, well, they were harder to accept. Live and learn, right? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

