Music = Peace

musicMusic plays a major role in my life. I could go almost any direction when it comes to music but today’s post is about my latest endeavor and what it means to me.

There’s something about music that is powerful. At least, for me it is. It has always been part of my life. I grew up listening to my dad sing. He passed his love of music on to me. Ever heard “For every situation there’s a suitable line from a song” ? That’s my dad. But I’m getting off topic here.

Last week, for the first time in ****ty years, I sat down at a piano. I’ve wanted to begin playing again but I lacked two things- motivation and a piano. I’ve been talking about taking it up again with a music teacher friend, who has strongly encouraged me to do so. Last week, I bit the bullet and ordered the book. piano booksSo far so good. I took my book in to show my buddy, John. He nodded his approval. And then I went all stammering and awkward. “So, now all I need is…..,” my voice trailing off as I looked at him pleadingly with hopeful Kat eyes. Being John, he was slow to respond, knowing exactly what I was asking/not asking. Finally he let me off the hook. “A piano.”

I smiled, nodded quickly and winced. (Was he going to actually say no?)

Of course he said yes! He told me I could use the piano in his back room anytime. Woohoo!Today will be my fourth day of playing. He advised me to start back at the very beginning and that’s what I’ve been doing. It hasn’t been easy but I feel it coming back to me day by day. There are some times when my fingers just refuse to cooperate and I do get frustrated. I might be a little tough on myself. And I’m self-conscious as all get out! (Every time John pops in, my hands freeze. He says he’s not listening but I don’t believe him.)

I wanted to start playing the piano for a few reasons. One was that I couldn’t ignore that itch, after listening to my kids play their instruments for the past 15 years. (I know, it’s been a long itch to ignore but 3 busy kids and life were a huge factor.) Another was that in exactly one month’s time, my husband and I will be empty nesters. I will have time. Next, there is the creative outlet. While I have my writing, it is often music that inspires me to write. I’m hoping that playing with ignite my thought process and soon I’ll be back in the writing saddle again. (And that sentence, if nothing else, should speak to how badly I need something!!!)

And then there’s the calming effect. When I played the piano way back , I remember it serving a dual purpose, outside of the obvious benefits from learning to play an instrument. It could be an escape when things just got to be too much. Concentrating on what I was playing would take my mind off everything. Playing also allowed my mind to wander. When I played songs that I knew by heart, I was able to just let go and let my thoughts go wherever they wanted. Regardless of how I felt going into a practice session, I came out much more relaxed. I sure could use some of that right now.

I think it’s important for a person to have that outlet. It doesn’t necessarily have to be creative. Whether its building something, organizing your office, painting….. just to have that thing. I believe that it helps to keep you grounded and keep life in perspective.

Today I will be finishing up Book 1 and tackling the first song in my Greatest Hits book- Love Me Tender by Elvis Presley. We’ll see how it goes. And while I’m practicing, I can also work on mastering my claustrophobia.

practice room

What do you do to relax, rewind, rejuvenate?

be-wow-blogger

 

 

6 thoughts on “Music = Peace

  1. Awesome that you are getting back to this! Learning how to play is on my bucket list. Plus, I need to get the little monkey lessons – we have a large keyboard that will serve for her first (and mine) experience learning how to play.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t been able to get in to practice the last week and a half so I’m getting anxious about losing my refound skills. I highly recommend it and I’m hoping my son will have his kids take lessons. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s great that you are taking up piano again. I think you are definitely choosing something that is an important form of expression for you by the way you describe how you feel when you do it. I can relate to being self-conscious when someone is listening but don’t give up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know it’s going to take some time until I get to a place where I’m comfortable but until then, it is providing a much needed distraction. I just have to stop beating myself up because it’s not coming back faster. Lol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I am so glad for you that you returned to music. Find a comfort zone, then play a little within that zone each day, and a little beyond that zone. Soon you will be re-discovering the things that appeal to you about playing music.

    I play music nearly every day of my life — and I can’t imagine life without it.

    Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

