Computer Woes

Message from my computer

Remember that whiny Kat who was complaining about not being able to “like” or “comment” on people’s blogs even after signing in a second time although she (I) was already signed into WordPress? I never really did get that mess figured out- like if it was a WordPress thing or a computer thing or a Kat thing…..when I got the message above.

And then it was official. The hard drive failed on the laptop that I’ve had less than 7 months. I spent a day or two frantically trying to collect anything important before it was declared dead. I’m not sure that I was successful. I do know that some things are on an external hard drive that still holds important things from last year’s computer issues. And all of my photos are on another storage hard drive somewhere….

I find myself back on the laptop that was giving me nothing but trouble for months on end last year. To write a post or work on something I need to remember where I put the documents or pictures that I need for it. I spend a lot of time walking back and forth from one room to the other, collecting flash drives or the ehd (external hard drive) or something that I didn’t even go into that room to collect. Big sigh.

I am not happy to find myself at the mercy of technology. I’ve spent too much time existing without a computer and settling for using an iPad as my main source…..which is not an option. And I do not like it- not one little bit.

So, while I sit here listening to the hamsters inside my computer run themselves into a frenzy trying to keep things working here, I’m going to try to create an actual post about something other than whining.

Hope you are having better luck with your stuff!

-Kat

21 thoughts on “Computer Woes

    1. I’m very proud of myself. Unlike the last time I was having laptop issues, I did not threaten to throw it out the window or smash it to the ground like I did with the last (aka the one I’m using now) laptop. It’s either a sign of growth or silent resignation…. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I think other than favorites saved to the computer, I’ve managed to retrieve everything.

      Although it was purchased new from Best Buy 7 months ago, it is no longer being manufactured or serviced, which is why it has to be sent away to get fixed.

      I’m learning to become more flexible when it comes to my technology….. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Yikes. Very frustrating. Glad you had photos in another place. πŸ™‚ My husband’s computer died and he knew a guy who could retrieve stuff from it. Just have to find someone who knows about computers which I do not, much. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My husband is a computer person, so it makes this all the more frustrating. It also doesn’t bode well for my laptop that it needs to be sent away to be fixed. In the past, if he wasn’t able to fix it, he was able to get help from people he knows. Luckily, my old laptop was still around for me to use. πŸ™‚ And saving the pictures was most important of all!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s the worst but I’m going to have to adapt. The funny thing is that I can remember my husband bringing home that first computer and me reacting like he had just brought a monster into our house. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

