Support and Ducks

“If it looks like a duck, swims like a duck, and quacks like a duck, then it probably is a duck.”

When I shared the news of Kris coming out with friends, I was met with a variety of responses. I can honestly say that every single one was supportive. Although most people were shocked, they remained positive throughout the conversation.

I cannot say that all of these people remained that way.

There were some that disappeared overnight. I have not heard from them since.

There are others who were just a shade cooler the next time I saw them and they slowly drifted away……….

A few people lashed out at me- attacking me over something I did wrong (and in these instances every single attack was based on a perception- not on any actual wrong doing on my part- and it came out of nowhere- no warning signs in the least) and the only common denominator was that the attack occurred within a few weeks of finding out about Kris. I cannot prove that any of them had anything to do with Kris but in all cases, the people were quite irrational and refused to listen to any kind of reason or to accept my apology (for my non-wrongdoing.) Regardless, those relationships are over.

I don’t feel that these people are supportive- not of Kris, not of me, not of my family. They are ducks.

So, by those standards-

Looking like a duck

Swimming like a duck

Quacking like a duck

— when other people, say relatives, display the same behaviors……… what does that make them?

2 thoughts on “Support and Ducks

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

