Writer’s Quote Wednesday- Write Now

wqw kingsolver 5.31While I may know nothing about Barbara Kingsolver, I do know how easy it is to have every intention of writing and have that time get sucked up doing a million other things. That is what has happened to me. I let the end of the year school madness pull me in and from there it went downhill. I kept waiting for the perfect time to jump back into writing. Of course, it never came.

My planner is filled with the themes for various challenges and reminders for the weekly challenges I enjoy participating in. I’ve grown frustrated and anxious as I look back over the past few weeks and see how few posts I’ve written. While there is no requirement for me to write and I’m sure you understand how hectic life can get, there’s more going on here than just me putting pressure on myself.

It’s me not carving out time for myself. It’s me putting everyone and everything before myself. And the truth is- I need to write. Even if I write gibberish that never sees the light of day. Even if I have 50 drafted posts that never get published. Even if I keep adding half formed thoughts in my notebook. I need to write. I can tell myself that if my ideas are that great, they’ll come back to me. But we know that it’s not true. The real truth is that the more you write, the more those creative juices get flowing and if you’re me- the happier you are. And you can’t sit around waiting for that time to make itself available. Sometimes you just need to DO IT. It’s time for me to take the words of the quote to heart and make time to write because the time is now.

writer's quote wednesday

5 thoughts on “Writer’s Quote Wednesday- Write Now

  1. I think you might like Barbara Kingsolver’s book, The Poisonwood Bible, Kat. Maybe when you find more time. I’ve become a stealth writer. Whenever I have 15 minutes, I flip over a piece of paper and get something down. I was absolutely the only one writing in the doctor’s waiting room yesterday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will definitely put it on my to-read list. 🙂 I try to carry a notebook with me at all times (and remember to use it!) I also have notes on my phone for those times when I don’t have paper.

      I totally get what you’re saying about being the only one writing. It’s very rare to even see a person reading an actual book in a waiting room.

      For me, I’ve been finding it hard making those notes into something. And god forbid I don’t understand what the point of those scribblings! It drives me crazy because I just know it was something good.

      Like

  2. I found myself in the same position as you once. That’s why I put on my blog on a diet (amongst other things). I now read blog posts in the mornings and write in the afternoons. If anything has to be done during those times I either reallocate the job to a Saturday (when it seems to be quiet in the blogging world), or do the job and read less posts. For me writing comes before reading.

    Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

