10 Things

Ari’s Care and Keeping of Pups….er…Babies

Hi, it’s me, Ari, stopping in. While Kat’s busy getting Andrew settled back at home (he’s home- my boy is home!!!!! wag, wag, wag!!!), I decided to revive Kat’s 10 Things feature with my own 10 tips for caring for pups….er, I mean, babies.

We have a new baby in our family. My oldest boy, Michael, and his wife had a baby about 6 months ago. (It seems like a lot longer.) I love Michael. He lays down on the floor and roughhouses with me. He also puts me through a rigorous exercise program jumping over him, back and forth, through endless repetitions. And when he was living at home, we would take naps together when he came home from working 24 hour shifts. Those naps were the best!

So now, there’s this baby- Beej- and it was apparent early on that these people do not know how to care properly for a human baby. As far as I can see, human babies are just bald puppies. Spending these past 6 months with the baby has awakened my maternal instincts and I would like to share my parenting tips with you:

1. Upon arrival, it is important to inspect the baby to confirm that he is intact. Sometimes the parents will need encouragement to leave in the form of some gentle barks……progressing to herding them out the door with short, insistent barks if they are slow to respond. ari and beej

2. When suspecting the baby is need of a diaper change, one good sniff is all you need. It’s unnecessary to pull the diaper leg open, peeking in and then cautiously poking a finger in to investigate. Your nose will never fail you.

3. When it comes to cleaning spit up and smeared baby food, there’s no need to wipe ’em down. A thorough licking will get the job done!

clean up4. Get down on their level. Get on the floor and play with them. Babies get tired of looking at people’s feet and legs all the time and it’s a LONG way to look up when you’re standing right next to them.

IMG_5018

5. Babies like walks. Lots and lots of walks. Especially if they have their dog to lead the way!

6. Sometimes babies just cry. Learn to tell the difference between a real cry and a simple “I’m bored” cry. It’s easy if you just listen.

close7. Sleep when the baby sleeps. This is KEY. When they are awake, they are a full-time job and constantly being on call can be exhausting.

sleep

8. Have patience. Babies are very curious and they like to explore and experiment.tail9. A good game of tug of war never hurts!tug of war10. Babies need love. Lots and lots of love, in the form of licks. loveAnd there you have it! If you follow these tips, your pup- er….baby will grow up just fine!

On a personal note, I think I make a fantastic mother to Beej and hopefully my careful and thoughtful role modeling will set a good example for these people and they will catch onto the proper way to do it!

Meanwhile, Baby Beej has been sitting up on his own, rolling over both ways and scooting. I keep hearing talk about when he will begin crawling. No one told me he would be mobile?!!??!