Y is for Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah

When did this become socially acceptable?

Two people are talking to each other. Perhaps one person has been monopolizing the conversation. Maybe he has taken too long to answer. He might be adding way too much unnecessary detail. The other person interjects, “Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah” in quick succession, in other words saying ‘hurry up and finish already!’

I’ve noticed this more and more often lately. Someone I talk to on a regular basis does this, not only to me but everyone. Does she realize how rude and dismissive this sounds? Like she can’t be bothered to hear the end of the other person’s sentence. She’s done. Move on.

I think the worst (and most shocking) was when my mother-in-law yeah,yeah,yeah,yeah,yeah-ed Kris a few weeks ago. She’s usually very proper and correct. hmph

We have all been on both sides of these types of dialogues but this vocal equivalency to “Wrap it up!” has to end. (And I have never yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah-ed anyone…no matter how badly I might have wanted to..)

Have you encountered this?

A2Z-BADGE-0002015-LifeisGood-230_zps660c38a0

10 thoughts on “Y is for Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah

  1. In defense of yeah, yeah, yeahers, my dear son will start a story and tell it in such extreme detail it takes thirty minutes to finish. Sometimes this can make it very interesting.. Sometimes he’s describing in detail mechanical things his mother cannot even begin to comprehend and my brain goes numb. LOL

    On the Post A to Z Road Trip from S.E. Texas and Life & Faith in Caneyhead.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Okay, I should probably put the kid clause in. lol I have a child who can recall his dreams vividly and the recaps have me nodding my head impatiently at times.

      Like

  2. I have never heard it said that rudely…I usually just ignore the person if they don’t have a filter as to when they should stop talking. Or I’ll be blunt and say, “Oh yes. Well, I’ve got to get back to my grading now.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Kat. I don’t think I’ve experienced a yeah, yeah, yeah in a long while. Thankfully, lol. That is so rude though.

    I’m also stopping by from the A to Z Challenge and just wanted to let you know about our party. The A to Z Reflections Linky List will open on Monday May 4th, and you’re more than welcome to join. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yeah, yeah, yeah…only joking Kat, but I have encountered it, yes. Usually when the person I am talking to is trying to tell me I’ve already told them this 🙂

    Whenever I hear it I just shut up and then there is usually a stoney silence which can be quite embarrassing.

    Liked by 2 people

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

