W is for Writing

For as long as I can remember, I have been writing. I used to think that all I was really interested in, all I could really write was fiction. I’m in a rambly sort of mood so I apologize ahead of time.

My first stories came from stories I made up while playing with my paper dolls. "Stories" by KatWhen I finally progressed past my paper doll stories, I concentrated on realistic fiction. My characters were always the same age as I was at that time with similar problems. When I hit high school, my real creativity took off and I gave my stories some real drama. Yes, those binders hold my original series. The characters in this series are very near and dear to my heart. I’ve often thought about picking up where they would be today in real time- parents and grandparents with adult problems.

Blog writing is new to me, even after a year. I feel like I’m still getting my sea legs, so to say. When I began this blog, I hoped it would help guide me in another project of mine- writing about my journey with my transgender son, Kris. As I have attempted to share our story, I’ve encountered many stops and starts. I’m not sure where to start because Kris’s story began the first time he tried to tell us he was really a boy. That was 20 years ago. It was only after he came out at 18 that we realized. While this project has been difficult to begin, I suspect that once I do it will flow.

Recently, as I researched books to share with 5 year old CJ to introduce him to the concept of someone being transgender, I found the offerings of children’s books to be limited and the ones that refer directly to female to male transition- practically non-existent. I talked about this in a recent A to Z post- R is for Red. Seeing a need, Kris and I are going to collaborate on a children’s book addressing this area. Since he is more of a fantasy writer and it’s the first time I’m working on something with another person, it should be interesting.

Every year I take part in National Novel Writing Month. Participants write 50,000 words in the month of November. I’ve had mixed results over the years. The last 2 years have been abysmal failures so I am determined that 2015 is the year I am successful and get it done. I just need a story to write!

I’ve been in a writing funk lately. The ideas are there. Words are swirling around. Nothing is being written. I’m hoping that as things slow down and I have more time that the fog will lift and I will be able to write something worth reading. And then as far as publishing goes? I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it!

What about you? Is blog writing your main writing or do you write other things as well?

A2Z-BADGE-0002015-LifeisGood-230_zps660c38a0

Click here to read my other A to Z Blogging Challenge posts.

Thank you for dropping in! 🙂

-Kat

 

 

9 thoughts on “W is for Writing

  1. What an exciting project for you and your son to work on. Something you won’t forget and will be so proud of when completed. And to think of how much it will benefit others… a win win for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the idea of writing a book about a person being transgender. There are so many children that are going through this that it could be a wonderful children’s book. I had to start another blog so I could do my ‘fun’ writing and still stay focused on what I started my blog for. I write for children with chronic illnesses and their families. That was the best decision I made.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m interested to see how Kris and I will work together. The last time either of us wrote something for younger children we were younger children!

      I’m still shaping my blog and working on what I want it to be. There are so many possibilities. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. How wonderful you have such a long history with your voice and writing – I truly admire that. And I think it’s very exciting you and Kris will be doing a kid’s book together. That’s fabulous. Wishing you a very successful NaNoWriMo. I intend to play this year as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My younger voice was quite immature and it’s definitely taken time to develop. I’m excited to work with Kris and see what we come up with! 🙂

      I found my best success with NaNo was the years I belonged to a group of people who were also doing it. We kept each other motivated and accountable.

      Like

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

