K is for Katherine

Kat is my pen name. I knew that when I began writing this blog that I would need a name for a few reasons. The most important was respecting Kris’s privacy. Being transgender, it should be his decision who and when he comes out to people. The other, older reasons were that I’m an insecure writer who is afraid to have people reading her words.

There are so many different sources for the meaning, origin, numerology of names.The ironic part is the more I researched both the name I was given at birth and the name I chose for myself, there was a very clear picture emerging of Katherine and “me”. For the sake of this piece, I’m using information found at sheknows.com. I used their calculations for the numbers.

The Soul Urge Number is the inner you and It shows your true motivation, your inner cravings and urges, likes and dislikes. The Expression Number shows your talents, abilities and shortcomings. Katherine info is purple. Birth name info is blue. My thoughts are black.

Katherine means pure, clear.

SoulUrge Number: 2   People with this name have a deep inner desire for love and companionship, and want to work with others to achieve peace and harmony.

This sounds like me. Especially the peace and harmony part.

Expression Number: 1   People with this name tend to initiate events, to be leaders rather than followers, with powerful personalities. They tend to be focused on specific goals, experience a wealth of creative new ideas, and have the ability to implement these ideas with efficiency and determination. They tend to be courageous and sometimes aggressive. As unique, creative individuals, they tend to resent authority, and are sometimes stubborn, proud, and impatient.

The only way I am a leader is unwillingly but I always seem to wind up leading. I do not have a powerful personality. The middle section about goals, ideas and implementation does sound like me. I guess I’m courageous (according to other people) and I know I get aggressive when I need to. I don’t resent authority but I am stubborn, proud and impatient….sometimes.

Birth Name means young.

SoulUrge Number: 8  People with this name have a deep inner desire to lead, organize, supervise, and to achieve status, power and wealth.

None of this is me…. not at all.

Expression Number: 3  People with this name tend to be creative and excellent at expressing themselves. They are drawn to the arts, and often enjoy life immensely. They are often the center of attention, and enjoy careers that put them in the limelight. They tend to become involved in many different activities, and are sometimes reckless with both their energies and with money.

Although I am creative, I feel like the rest of that description is not me.

My conclusions- Kat suits me even better than the name I was given. The truth is that I am Kat. I am the most me when I am writing here. I found my writing voice here. So don’t expect any exciting name reveals – no “Call me Janice” or “Call me Rose” or Chris  or Sue. I’m KAT.

How about you? What does your name mean? Do you fit your name? And if you write under a pen name,does it suit you better? I would love to hear from you!

A2Z-BADGE-0002015-LifeisGood-230_zps660c38a0

8 thoughts on “K is for Katherine

  1. OK, my bloggity name, Sheena is a play on the fact that my blog is Not A Punk Rocker. It’s from a Ramones song…where Sheena IS a punk rocker

    (sorry if you already knew that…I had no idea how many people didn’t until recently!)

    My real name, I don’t care for, but I am not sure what I would choose if I could.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My oldest son was a big Ramones fan so that seems to ring a bell somewhere- but I’m not sure where exactly. 🙂 I don’t dislike my real name but I find it interesting that it doesn’t seem to fit me and the one I chose is more like me.

      Like

  2. Hi, just ran across your blog from the Monday Blogs, and saw you were also on A2Z. I love anything to do with names, so it caught my attention today. I did know mine (Barbara) means strange, foreign, and it also said traveler from a foreign land. That’s pretty cool. I also entered my online name Ghost…and nothing came up…guess that’s about right…invisible 😉 I couldn’t find where the color/number part was, but I do know my numerology number is a 4. Anyway, thanks for the most interesting post! All my best and lots of blogging adventures!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved this. I just looked it up. I knew my name meant dear or darling and I am not too sure I identify with those. But this SoulUrge number 5 (all new to me) is 100% me as it speaks of an inner desire for adventure and travel and a need to buck tradition. Me, in a nutshell. Thanks from Cheryl – my real name (Although I like this idea of a pen name… maybe another blog?)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve always wanted to write and knew that I would have a pen name. I’m such a private person and I really don’t like to share my writing with my family… I know, I’m crazy.

      Like

  4. This is interesting. I like numerology and stuff like this. I went to that site and both my birth name and chosen name have the same soul urge number. The expression number was accurate for both but most accurate, actually spot on, for my chosen name.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I checked both of my son’s names and both had the same soul urge number, too. The expression number was different with him being more like his birth name than chosen name but he is a lot like that one too. I’m not too surprised by that. My oldest son is exactly as described. My youngest, whose name is not as common, is about 50%. I find this all very interesting… especially the part where I’m more like my chosen name than my birth name. lol

      Like

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

