Writer’s Quote Wednesday- Mo Willems

mo willems quote

Mo Willems is an American writer, animator and creator of children’s books. He wrote Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus and other popular titles you might recognize if you’ve read books to kids in the last 10 years. You can read more about him-here.

So, I went over to baby-sit the little guys during the time overlapping Mommy heading off to work and Daddy coming home. I was sitting on the couch, burping little Beej, who does not give his burps up easily, when CJ sidled up to me dragging a stack of books with him. “Can you please read me a book?” he asked.

When I said that I would, he turned and started sorting through his pile. He pulled out Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus. The Pigeon Wants a Puppy, The Pigeon Finds a Hotdog, Don’t Let the Pigeon Stay Up Late, and Naked Mole Rat Gets Dressed followed. All Mo Willems books. And by the way, if you live in my hometown and plan on going to the library to look for any Pigeon books, CJ checked them all out of out and is having us all read the words right off the pages. By the time we got to the end of the first book, we were both smiling. As Pigeon’s antics continued through the books, it was such a joy to watch CJ’s reactions.

But back to the quote. Have you ever found yourself in the wrong story? I certainly have! I’ve looked around and realize that I’m somewhere that I’m not supposed to be. Is it as easy as just leaving? Sometimes it is. I know I’ve mentioned talked about things simplistically but the more I think about it, the more I’m convinced that it really is simple. We always have the capacity to make things as complicated as we want.

We make messes. We overthink. We overreact. We jump into stories where we don’t belong. We might do it to avoid something we don’t want to face in our own story. Or we might mean well and really be sticking our noses in where they don’t belong. Regardless, it is important to know what your story is and stay there.

I think it is an individual decision. You might ask for advice from a friend but when it comes down to it, it’s all up to you.

If you’re in the wrong story, leave.

This post is part of Writer’s Quote Wednesday hosted by Colleen at Silver Threading. You can click on the badge below to find a large variety of quotes from bloggers who participate from all over!

writer's quote wednesday

14 thoughts on “Writer’s Quote Wednesday- Mo Willems

  1. I have found myself in the wrong story and had other people not even in my story tell me I need to consult them before I make decisions about it. I found my way out of their story as well. Love the quote 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

