I is for I Am Not Your Broom

This song came to mind when I was trying to come up with something for my “I” day in the A to Z Blogging Challenge. And try as I might, I could not shake it.

It’s a silly little song by They Might Be Giants. If you aren’t familiar with the group, you should check them out. They are known for the song- Boss of Me– theme of the tv show “Malcolm in the Middle”. Their songs are quirky and original. This song is from an album of kids songs that are more than just kids songs…….as is this one about the broom.

After much thought and consideration, after realizing that today is National Siblings Day, (It’s true! If your Facebook feed isn’t clogged up with a bunch of loving pictures of brothers and sisters, then you are SOOOOOO lucky!!!) after thinking about the pictures that I am NOT posting this year although I am not an only child, I came to the conclusion that this song is incredibly appropriate.

“I don’t believe an accident of birth makes people sisters or brothers. It makes them siblings, gives them mutuality of parentage. Sisterhood and brotherhood is a condition people have to work at.” — Maya Angelou

So today, in honor of National Siblings Day, I have only one message to send-

“I am not your broom.”

A2Z-BADGE-0002015-LifeisGood-230_zps660c38a0

a note from Kat- No one has to like this post. I know it’s an angry post. I’m angry. I’m hurt. And probably being passive-aggressive….just a bit. And I’m not fixing the apple cart. But I need to post this. For me.

4 thoughts on “I is for I Am Not Your Broom

  1. What a fabulous way of putting this. Sometimes we need to be angry – it can be a transformative emotion. It’s the way we act on it that we need to be careful of…but I think writing is a healthy way to express it…it can be so cathartic!

    Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

