E is for Eight

My youngest son, Andrew, was unable to come home for Easter, being away at school, so we skyped with him yesterday. Two years ago, while we were on a week long road trip, visiting prospective colleges, we bonded over our shared love of the Beatles. We listened to biographies, lots of music and shared the tidbits we had read separately. He’s a Paul fan. I’m Team John. We find Ringo Starr to be very entertaining.

Last week he had mentioned that Ringo was finally being inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame- the last of the Beatles to be inducted for his solo career. Continuing that conversation while we skyped (much to the boredom of his brother, father and grandparents) we discussed how sweet it was that Paul would be the one inducting him. Then Andrew mentioned that he had listened to Ringo’s latest album. I’m apparently out of the loop when it comes to all things Ringo, as I didn’t even know there was a latest album. “It was good. It was Ringo. Ya know,” was his description. I had to laugh because it’s our standard “Ringo” reply. We had listened to a lot of Ringo over the past few years and while I enjoy listening to him, a little goes a long way. I admire his laidback, easy going peaceful attitude. I need to be a little more like him. Maybe it’s the percussionist in him. Whatever it is, he really doesn’t look or act like your average 74 year old. I will be surprised if he doesn’t outlive Paul McCartney, despite being the oldest of all the Beatles.

At this point, you might think I’m really stretching here- E is for Eight- Eight Days a Week, and then I talk about Ringo. If you know your Beatles, it all made sense from the start. If not, I’ll connect all the dots. (There aren’t many.) The song was released in 1964 and is credited to Lennon/McCartney, although I believe it’s a Paul song. Paul cites the inspiration as Ringo, who was known for his malapropisms* (an act or habit of misusing words ridiculously, especially by the confusion of words that are similar in sound). I’ve seen this credit in multiple books and interviews so I’m going with it. I could be wrong. And if you know me, you know that I somehow manage to slip in the Fab Four.

“Eight Days a Week” is not one of my favorite songs but I do like it a lot. It never fails to get my foot tapping and lift my spirits a bit. Is there a Beatles song that I do not like? No. Will I revisit the Beatles again this month? Maybe.

Who’s your favorite Beatle? Or are you more of a Rolling Stones fan?

*My favorite Ringo malapropism is “Tomorrow Never Knows”

A2Z-BADGE-0002015-LifeisGood-230_zps660c38a0

14 thoughts on “E is for Eight

  1. My favorite one is George LOL – the unmentioned! We supposedly share a birthday (Feb. 24, though some sites say the 25ht) and I always felt a kinship with him. I love Paul as well, John comes in third, and Ringo is….well, he’s Ringo. My uncle is a drummer and I grew up on the Beatles, and am proud to say that Maya could say Paul McCartneys’ name and correctly identifiy him singing a song when she was less than three years old. It was almost like my job as a mother was done 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. After John, I admire Paul’s talent but don’t like him as a person. I think Ringo is pretty cool and George’s talent was under-appreciated at times.

      You really are a good mama, aren’t you? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I totally get the talented musician ego thing and the personality of musicians and creative types having given birth to a few myself, being one and having a few really close friends who are…but for whatever reason, he bugs me the wrong way. I’m sure he’s a perfectly nice person. lol

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, and I didn’t mean me and all my people are anywhere near Paul’s talent or even are actually talented in the least…well, some are actually quite talented…. I meant that moody artistic personality stuff. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Watching some of those old videos of interviews, I would have expected them all to use them. They did get rather silly at times. 🙂 Oh wait, I think “cheeky” is the word that has been often used.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I grew up loving the Beatles. When my daughter chose the Beatles as the topic for her salutatory speech when she graduated from high school, I was thrilled. However, on graduation day, she totally skipped the section on George Harrison, her favorite Beatle, also often referred to as the forgotten Beatle. We still tease her about forgetting the forgotten Beatle.

    Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

