Writer’s Quote Wednesday- Natalie Goldberg

Writer's Quote Wednesday

I chose this quote for Writer’s Quote Wednesday because I’ve always been writing and always wanted to write. It wasn’t until I began writing about those things that are mentioned in the quote- what disturbs me, what I fear and what I was not able to speak about- that I really felt like I was writing. Writing about having a transgender child at a most vulnerable time in my life when it was at times difficult to talk about challenged me in ways I could have never imagined. I think its important to step outside your comfort zone in order to grow as a writer.

writers-quote-wed-20151

Thank you to Colleen at Silver threading for hosting the Writer’s Quote Wednesday event! If you like writer’s quotes, you will want to head over to her blog and check out all the quotes that are shared.

13 thoughts on “Writer’s Quote Wednesday- Natalie Goldberg

    1. I’ve been told by close friends that I am an incredibly private person and I don’t give much up— and when I do I’m very slow to let people in. Writing this blog is part of me stepping outside my comfort zone and letting people see who I really am. 🙂

      Like

      1. The more I read your writing and get a glimpse of your world, the more you sound like me in a way. There was a reason we have crossed paths from your illness to your children, we have a lot alike. I to am an private person and I have a hard time letting others in. I completely agree about blogging and that’s why i started with my 1st photography blog. I wanted to connect with others who valued and enjoyed what I had to offer, that wasn’t a part of my small town. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Conquering the fear of writing about something that you don’t like to talk about is very tough. I remember writing and publishing a post about how having dyslexia affected my life. It took me a while to push that publish button but, when I did, I was so shocked by the amount of support I got back from other bloggers. It really gave me the encouragement to carry on and to not let fear get in the way.

    It’s a great quote you have found, Kat, and one that really serves its purpose.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is something empowering when you write about that thing wind you are met with kindness.

      I remember experiencing shock when someone, who was not transgender or the parent of a trans kid or trans related at all, liked a post I wrote about having a trans kid. It felt good. My real life experience has been that many people who have no contact with trans person prefer to keep it that way.

      It’s not easy- putting yourself out there- but I think the good outweighs the bad.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I certainly agree with you, Kat. Often I have found myself fearing to do something, putting it off for as long as I can. Then, when I finally get the courage to go ahead and do it, I’m very often met with nothing but praise.

        Forgive me for saying this here, but I could not find any contact information to contact you. I selected your Christmas Tree Angel Topper as the winner in my recent Charity Christmas Challenge I created over on my blog. I announced all the results yesterday and said I would contact you about writing a guest post for my blog. There’s no pressure when you have to write it, if indeed you want to write a guest post for my blog, but just let me know when you have had time to think about it.

        Congratulations, Kat.

        Like

      2. OH shoot, I didn’t even know that I didn’t have contact info on my blog. (Too busy worrying about Twitter, I suppose.)

        Here’s my e-mail- kcarpita@ymail.com

        Thank you, Hugh! I have never been a guest blogger before! I’m excited!!! (And a bit nauseous at the thought…)

        Like

      3. Oh no, I feel like I’ve put more pressure on you now with that ‘Contact’ button.

        Thanks for the email details, Kat. There’s no pressure or deadline for the guest post. Just contact me when you are ready to go ahead. I’m delighted to know that it will be your first time as a a guest blogger and that it took place on Hugh’s Views and News. Please do take as much time as you like with the post. I’ll still be here when your ready to send it over to me.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I think we were probably replying to each other at the same time. No worry! It’s something I would like to do so I’m giving it a lot of thought.

        Thank you for the opportunity! When I began blogging, I went into it not really aware of all it entailed. I am finding it be a much more rewarding experience than I ever imagined. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. What great inspiration and so true! As a musician, writing music is very similar. It’s only when you write about what is real and often difficult for the sheer vulnerability of being honest, that you can reach your audience. Much of today’s music focus on the mundane or even the fictitious lives they wish they led. I find I really only connect on a way that would make me click to buy music, to those who are really throwing their heart out there for all the world to trample on or love! I guess it’s the same no matter what medium we’re using; truth is truth. The growth & journey through it all is so worth it if we’re willing to grow and learn from it! Well Done Kat!

    Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

