You Can’t Always Get What You Want

“You can’t always get what you want…..but if you try sometime you just might find, you get what you need.”

This is a classic. It’s a great song. And it’s true. Life is funny, isn’t it?

I look around and see:

~my family ~my house ~my life

~the people who made it through to the other side with us

~and those that didn’t

~my closest friends, all parent of a daughter when I’m not and I shake my head at the irony

~the distance that exists between me and my siblings- and how it’s growing

~an old friend with whom I’ve been to hell and back- and know if I call today, he will be there no questions asked

~the endless possibilities for the future.

I look around and see all these things. This might not be the life I thought I would have but somehow I have to believe that this is the life I was supposed to live. It’s what I need. For whatever reason. It’s up to me to decide what I do with this life.

4 thoughts on “You Can’t Always Get What You Want

  1. Honestly… at times getting everything on a platter is boring. I would want to work for it, make it interesting and make it worth the wait! Often the struggles we face makes me wonder if our desires are worth it.

    Like

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

