“Boyhood”

It was the week before we left to take Andrew to college when I first heard about this movie. Andy had mentioned that it was playing at the small theater in town and he wanted to see it. Kris also expressed an interest to see it. I’ll be honest with you. I had no desire to see it. I didn’t know what it was about. I was pretty much freaking out all over the place because we were leaving to take Andrew to school and I wasn’t handling these last few days very well at all. They wouldn’t let it drop so I finally asked what this movie was. I know- bad mom- why did I assume I wouldn’t want to see the movie without knowing what it was about? All I can say is that I was caught up in my full-scale panic and wasn’t paying attention.

They told me that the movie was about a boy who grows up on camera. They explained that it was filmed over the course of 12 years and it was about a boy. For two intelligent guys with above average writing skills and vocabularies, they did not do this film justice in their description. Just sayin’. I wasn’t sold. My husband convinced me that it would be fun. I still wasn’t sold but I was too tired from stressing out to fight so I went with.

If you are unfamiliar with this movie, let me explain a little more than my sons did with me. This movie was written and directed by Richard Linklater. The concept was simple- use the same actors and film a small bit of the movie for a few weeks once a year over the course of 12 years. The movie shows the main character, Mason, grow up before the viewer’s eyes. When it begins he is 6 years old. The view sees Mason grow up, along with his sister, and his parents (played by Patricia Arquette and Ethan Hawke) also age as the movie progresses.

This movie snuck up on me. I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did. I didn’t think I was even going to like it. As I watched the nominations for Golden Globes announced this morning and heard that “Boyhood” was nominated for 5 awards- Best Drama Picture, Supporting Actor, Supporting Actress, Director, and Screenplay, I was reminded again of how great this movie is. I really do think it is an award winning movie.

For more reasons than one, I will forever associate this movie with Andrew leaving for college. It will also remind me to slow down and take time to look around and listen when I’m feeling stressed about time running out because I might miss something important- like those little things. Like this movie that will forever make me cry.

I wrote this piece as part of the Daily Prompt- Postaday- Ready, Set, Done!

I’m adding the movie trailer to the end of the post, in case you are interested to see what this movie is all about.

2 thoughts on ““Boyhood”

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

