A Week of Thanks

thankful

I haven’t been able to keep up with my 30 Days of Thanks. There are some that might say it’s understandable given the things that have been going on but I feel bad all the same. I do have a lot to be thankful for these days. I’ve lost track of the days but I’m going to list out what I’m thankful for this week and the way I look at it, it’s the thought that counts, not the number, right?

♥ I am thankful that after yet another trip to the hospital that my daughter-in-law and unborn grandchild are doing okay. The baby was up to his usual tricks- he doesn’t like the feel of the monitors pressing against him so he spent hours squirming and pushing back against them. But he’s doing okay and that’s what is important.

♥ I am thankful that my daughter-in-law is sharing this experience with me. I know that all mother-in-law/daughter-in-law relationships are not created equal and some are better than others.

♥ I am thankful for my friends who remain by my side (even if only in spirit or by text) despite my absence in their lives lately.

♥ I am thankful for my friend, John. This week proved to be a stressful one and when I cracked under the pressure, he was there. He remained a strong presence in a very real way. He stayed close by texts but he seemed to sense the second I needed to talk and called more than once instead of answering by text. I’m sure he’s not even aware of what he did or how much it meant. He only accused me of “pita-ing” once. And he most definitely talked me down when I was on the verge of freaking out- really just letting everything get the best of me. The funny thing is that he didn’t use any of the typical responses- ‘everything will be okay’ or ‘you can handle this’ or ‘I’m here for you’. He was just there being a calm reassuring presence.

I’m hoping that things quiet down before they go crazy but I’m too realistic to believe that. Busy times are ahead and there’s no time to rest. 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Week of Thanks

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

