Writer’s Quote Wednesday- 11/5/14 Ray Bradbury

quoteI chose this quote in honor of NaNoWriMo- National November Writing Month- writing 50,000 in 30 days. Sometimes when you are writing one story, your characters develop a life of their own and you find them acting in ways that you weren’t expecting. Have you ever had that happen? The first time my characters took over in a story, I was caught off guard. I had heard tales of this happening to other writers but until then, it had not happened to me. I thought those people had over-active imaginations. Maybe they do. But having experienced rogue characters firsthand, I’m not so sure. I have also had characters pop into my head- all by themselves. Sounds kind of crazy? It is a bit puzzling to have a character appear and you don’t know what their story is. I have a few of those such characters wandering around. I’m sure I will figure out their story when the time is right. Until then, I’m going to try to catch up on my word count. 50,000 words don’t write themselves, you know!

writers-quote-wednesday

Thank you to Colleen at Silver Threading for hosting the Writer’s Quote Wednesday!

I c

17 thoughts on “Writer’s Quote Wednesday- 11/5/14 Ray Bradbury

  1. I like the quote and I am in awe of your guys that are doing the Novel Writing challenge and have time to post quotes. I wrote a small post about the topic of Inspiration and I talked about how sometimes the writing seems to take off by itself or if I write something I wonder “where did that come from?” I believe this does happen. Creative mystery.

    Like

    1. I agree with that- creative mystery. Unfortunately I have writer’s block- the arch nemesis of NaNoWriMo participants everywhere! I’m so far behind…… but I haven’t given up hope yet.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s a great quote that’s right on for NaNo. I think it’s fun when characters surprise you when you’re writing a story. It does catch you off guard, and then there’s the thought, “Hey, that actually fits!”

    Like

  3. I’m constantly following my characters around to find out where they’ll go next. I love it when I create a character to fit into a story and they become larger than life… their strength surprises me and it’s like “whoa! Where’d you come from?”
    It’s the best. 😀
    Great quote! And best of luck with NaNo!!

    Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

