Two of Us

I try hard not to turn my blog into a Beatles fan blog but they are my favorite group so as I continue on my 25 Songs, 25 Days, it stands to reason that they might make a few appearances on the list. I had a difficult time choosing a song I love to sing along with because I really do love music.

After much thought and changing my mind time and time again, I settled on “Two of Us” by Paul McCartney. Yes, I actually a Lennon-McCartney song that was written by Paul, for a change. We all know who my favorite is.

Let it Be and Abbey Road are my go-to CDs. I have both burned on one cd (minus one or two songs due to space) and the minute I hear John Lennon say, “I Dig A Pygmy by Charles Hawtrey and the Deaf Aids” I feel myself calm. As I work my way through singing and listening to both of these albums, it always help me to find my center again.

I do actually like a lot of Paul’s songs although if I was to count them up, most of my favorites were written by John. This song has always appealed to me. Although Paul was to supposed to have written for his future wife, Linda, I always felt it was more about him and John. Watching them sing it together in the Let it Be video, I always feel like you can see the connection of their friendship despite the great distance between them and the break up that is looming ahead.

“You and I have memories -longer than the road that stretches out ahead.”  This line has always jumped out to me. I love it! It reminds me of that longtime friend who you go so far back with that you can’t remember a time he wasn’t there. It speaks of a unique relationship, maybe even one that comes once in a lifetime.

What song do you like to sing along with?

25-songs-blog-challenge5

3 thoughts on “Two of Us

  1. Sorry, not a Beatles fan. Most people don’t get that. There are some of their stuff I like but never really got the love of them. My brother on the other hand has every song/album of theirs and can tell you all about them. I remember the night they first came on the Ed Sullivan show. We layed on the livingroom floor and watched it. That was great and I did like them, they just were never a favorite.
    I love music and sing all day long, at least as much of a song as I can remember. There are certain songs I love for different reasons. Like Crazy by Patsy Cline because my Papa would dance with me. Love the rock bands of the 70’s. Never liked metal. Love Casting Crowns, Jack Johnson, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Journey, Hank Williams Sr. There you go, love music and I don’t think I even have a favorite. Now you have given me something to think about. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

