So Close

I really struggled with writing about a loss. I don’t know why. To be honest, I’ve lost lots. My favorite gray hoodie, the bracelet my best friend gave me, a very dear friend, my concentration…..And yet when it came down to it, I couldn’t get moving.

Then I got a text from a fellow board member about the election that’s coming in 7 months. Let me back up for a minute. I’m not sure if I ever really mentioned it, except in passing, but I sit on a local board with 6 other people. It’s been one of the most challenging things I’ve ever done. There’s nothing like being tied to 6 very different people and having to come to a consensus on important matters. It’s an elected position with a 4 year term. It alternates- 4 people run in one cycle and then 2 years later the other 3 people run. untitled (11)

My buddy, John, was my running mate in the last election. I was running for my 3rd term and this was his first time. We ran with 2 of my fellow board members. This board position is something that I originally did because I was asked and I saw it as a way to force myself out of my comfort zone. Like I mentioned, it has been a challenge. I’m shy and quiet. I panic in large groups and lose the ability to speak. I cannot speak in front of a room full of people. I suck at small talk. That was 10 years ago when I began as a board member. It still holds true today. Oh well.

John has wanted to do this for years. We talked about it for as long as I’ve known him. Next to my oldest son being a bit of a handful I would have to say that our talk of the district was a huge factor in our friendship developing. John asked me tons of questions about everything to do with my position. The longer I knew him the certain I was that he would be great on the board. Finally, two years ago, he was ready to throw his hat in the ring.

The campaign was stressful. Addressing groups of people and telling them why they should vote for me was terrifying. We had every reason to believe that although there were 6 candidates and 4 positions that John was going to get elected. I told him more than once that I was sure he was going to bump me right out of my seat. We were sure of it.

John lost. He lost by under 20 votes. He was upset, disappointed, frustrated and so was I. His loss was not just his own. It was my loss because I had really looked forward to working with him in this capacity. It was the board’s loss and the district’s loss.

I’m halfway through my third term and election time is approaching for the 2nd cycle and John is going for it. This time, we are doing it!

Writing 101:Serially Lost- Today, write about a loss. The twist: make this the first post in a three-post series.

2 thoughts on “So Close

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

