Fire

I left the meeting feeling so many things…..none of them good. The two men I had met with are part of a board that I am on. They’ve been showing some chauvinistic behavior lately and I have not liked it one bit. The more I call them on it, the bigger asses they become. I can tell by their words AND their actions that they feel completely justified because I’m just an overemotional woman. (They skip over the part where my frustration is coming from them not hearing me, showing me any respect or involving me in any decisions made.) I was at the end of my rope and ready to admit defeat. It was time to seriously consider resigning from this position.

As I reached my car, I dropped my planner on the ground. I bent down to pick it up and noticed a piece of paper laying a few inches away.

imagesVZZEGKYU

I read the words on the paper, not once, not twice, but many times. With each reading I felt a fire growing inside me and as that fire grew, so did my determination to not let these “mean boys” get the best of me.

I’ve been told that under the right circumstances that I can be a force to be reckoned with…… so they better watch out!

Writing 101: Be Brief- You discover a letter on a path that affects you deeply. Today, write about this encounter. And your twist? Be as succinct as possible.

5 thoughts on “Fire

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

