Don’t Let Me Down

 

“Don’t Let Me Down” – the Beatles

Is it any surprise that the last song that I listened to was by the Beatles? If you were one of my kids, you would shake your head. I do actually listen to more than just the Beatles, as you’ve seen by the last 11 songs. The video clip is from their last live performance. Out of all the songs on Let It Be, this one always resonates deep inside me. John Lennon wrote this song although both John and Paul are credited. I always felt like John’s heart was in this song. His voice was full of his love and his fear of being let down, of letting his love down. I know the lyrics aren’t anything special but I really don’t feel like they need to be. The words just state it plain and clear- don’t let me down. Yeah, I’m a hopeless romantic and although I am not a huge Yoko fan, there was something about John and Yoko together that always intrigued me. And this song remains one of my favorites.  

Don’t let me down
Don’t let me down
Don’t let me down
Don’t let me down

Nobody ever loved me like she does
Ooo she does, yes she does
And if somebody loved me like she do me
Ooo she do me, yes she does

Don’t let me down
Don’t let me down
Don’t let me down
Don’t let me down

I’m in love for the first time
Don’t you know it’s gonna last?
It’s a love that lasts forever
It’s a love that had no past

Don’t let me down
Don’t let me down
Don’t let me down
Don’t let me down

And from the first time that she really done me
Ooo she done me, she done me good
I guess nobody ever really done me
Ooo she done me, she done me good

Don’t let me down
Hey, don’t let me down
(Eee hee)
Don’t let me down
Don’t let me down
(Eee hee)

{Don’t let me down
Hey, don’t let me down
Can you dig it?
Don’t let me down}

25 Songs, 25 Days- Day 12: the last song you heard

25-songs-blog-challenge5

 

 

5 thoughts on “Don’t Let Me Down

  1. The Beatles are the end all be all of music. Some of the younger set don’t understand what they did as they only hear the early poppy sounding things. They don’t understand what they brought to the music word. The Beatles were #1 on the charts the day I was born. And they’ve been with me ever since, even when I had to find them again.
    I even taught a lesson in class on a Beatles cult thing that went around and continues to today. I need to write an article about that.

    Like

    1. Interesting comments about the Beatles, and more interesting comments about music. I am interpreting “end all be all as hyperbole”, for I find music to be an ocean too vast, deep and varied to be encompassed by one artist or group, regardless of how transformational they may or may not have been in their time (and I am 55, btw).

      Certainly they have left many a mark on many shore, of that I am certain!!

      Respectfully, Charissa
      (a sailor on that vast musical sea, and visitor to many a shore)
      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. My musician son who is 18 really does appreciate what the Beatles have to offer- especially the 2nd half of their career when their music changed so much.

      I do find it interesting how much the Beatles music appears in our culture throughout the years. To me, the music is timeless but what do I know? I’m just a big fan! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

