It Had To Be You

When Harry Met Sally

“It Had To Be You” by Harry Connick, Jr.

When Harry Met Sally is easily hands down my favorite movie of all time. I have to stop and watch it every single time I come across it on tv. What can I say? I’m a sucker for a good love story and I absolutely adore Harry and Sally. Watching the years pass as they progress from friends to more and then nothing….only to end up together! Sigh! Who doesn’t love true love conquering in the end, beating all odds? Who doesn’t want the guy to get the girl? Billy Crystal is perfect in the role of Harry, the eternal pessimistic, and Meg Ryan’s Sally is quirky, cute and funny. You know they are going to end up together and it doesn’t matter.

There are so many favorite quotes-

Because someday, believe it or not, you’ll go 15 rounds over who’s gonna get this coffee table.This stupid, wagon wheel, Roy Rogers, garage sale coffee table!”

“A woman friend. This is amazing. You may be the first attractive woman I have not wanted to sleep with in my entire life.”

“I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.” 

imagesJ38GGYLF

 

And I can’t leave out the best line ever- “I’ll have what she’s having.”

Let’s not forget the other Harry- Harry Connick, Jr. Just hearing his voice brings up the movie in my mind. I’m a big Harry fan. Not to mention the song. It had to be you. It is SO perfectly fitting for this movie.

Although this post is supposed to be about the song, there’s that age old dilemma- Can men and women be “just friends”? That topic has intrigued me for years. In my late teens, early 20’s my best friend was a guy. Okay, so we did end up getting together for a short time…. totally destroying my stand that men and women CAN be just friends. Now I have John, which supports my case. Hmmmm Perhaps this is a topic for another day. What do you think?

25 Songs, 25 Days

Day 11- a song on the soundtrack of your favorite movie

25-songs-blog-challenge5

 

12 thoughts on “It Had To Be You

  1. When Harry Met Sally is special to me because it was the movie where I first fell in love With Meg Ryan.
    I once watched it on a date, and couldn’t help moaning and gasping whenever Meg would do something… roll her eyes, deliver a line, laugh… my date continually elbowed me in the ribs and got very agitated. No second date for us, but my love for Meg Ryan movies endures to this day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a great movie. (At least I think so!) I do think guys and girls can just be friends but not all guys and girls. My one friend, Rob, insists that guys cannot be friends with girls without considering how sex would be with them. After years of debating this, we finally agreed that it wasn’t his place to make a generalization about all men and that maybe a lot of men thought that way but he didn’t know for sure that ALL men do.

      Like

      1. Sooo…in every men’s space I was in (am in) I know that the topic of sex and a potential friend was paramount, almost like discussion of the weather…and there I am, thinking the most catty thoughts about these floozies that they “wanted to be friends with”…grrr

        The other side of that? Spiritual or church circles where the men are trying so hard to not get attracted sexually they are just as focused on sex as the other guys!

        So I am happy to at last have a few girl friends and not be thought of in weird ways! 🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

