The Best is Yet to Come

fifty

I recently hit a milestone birthday- the big five-ohhhhh!!! It came at a particularly bad time- just after my oldest child got married, added a ready-made grandson to the family and announced the arrival of another little grandbaby, my second born turned 21- making that two over 21 children, and my youngest graduated from high school. (And I won’t even get into the small matter of hot flashes and all that fun stuff.)

Throughout my 40’s I kept up the mantra- “It’s only a number. It’s only a number.” I was preparing myself for this birthday- this number. I had been dreading it for years and every year I got closer, that fear lessened just a little. I looked in the mirror for wrinkles. I took inventory of every ache and pain. 

No one acknowledged the number when my big day came. In fact, it was the most uneventful and boring birthday I’ve ever had. 

So, I’m easing into this number that I now realize isn’t old at all. I’m learning to embrace all the great things that come with being older than I was last year. 

Some of the biggies for me are-

I know who I am and I’m not afraid to be myself. If you don’t like me, tough!

I like to learn from my experiences and at this point in my life, I’ve learned so much!! 

I’ve learned to live without regrets. Now, if I could only get better about the worrying part. 

I treasure the people who have remained in my life despite a rough few years. 

I’m happy to be here and I look forward to what comes next. 

It’s only a number. It doesn’t mean anything. And if this is what *that number* feels like, it’s not bad. Not bad at all!

This post is a response to The Daily Post- Daily Prompt: Age- Old Questions.

11 thoughts on “The Best is Yet to Come

  1. Nice post. I can relate. I am now over 50. And I keep trying to say the same Mantra. It just doesn’t sound that good right now. 😀 And Happy Belated Birthday.

    Like

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

