25 Songs, 25 Days

And now for something completely different-

I’m taking on a new challenge- 25 Songs, 25 Days

I doubt it will be 25 consecutive days but I’ll get it done. I know that I started this blog to share our experience but it’s time for a break. 🙂

Day 1: A song from your childhood- Soliloquy

I grew up with my father singing all the time. For every event, big or small, he could pull out an appropriate song for the occasion. That being said, my childhood was filled with so many songs that right out the gate, day one, I was being challenged to chose a song. The songs that stand out the most in my memory happen to be songs from musicals. My dad sang them all of the time so I knew songs from an impressive amount of musicals that I had never seen. I’ve been working on actually familiarizing myself and my kids with those musicals over the past 10 years. 

The song that comes to mind immediately is “Soliloquy” from the musical/movie-  Carousel. It was written in 1945. Billy Bigelow, a carnival worker, has just found out that his wife is expecting their first child. The song begins as a soliloquy about his unborn son, until he realizes that he might have a daughter. It progresses through his questioning what you do with a girl, ending with him wanting to step up and be the father every little girl deserves. My dad sang this to me when I was little and I always think of him when I hear it.

25-songs-blog-challenge5

 

One thought on “25 Songs, 25 Days

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

