Friday Fuzz- A Day in the Life

I know I missed a week or two. It’s hard to find relevant items to share when you are hurtling 80+ mile per hour down a highway with the sound of the Cars movie in the background because the headphones’ batteries are dead and a 4 year old asking, “Did you see that part? Did you see it?” But I’m back.

The link I am sharing is one that my son, Kris, shared with me. It gives readers the chance to see what some of the things are that transgender people face in the course of a day. The interesting thing is that this gives the reader just a nibble of the actual reality. It is interactive so the reader has the choice of clicking which direction the day goes. It’s very simple but I think it makes the point.

A Passing Glance

Transgender people face so many obstacles in their quest to make their lives work. This is such a small part of a much larger picture. I think it’s important that people realize that there is more to this than changing your clothes.

I hope you will take a few minutes to click through it. I find it very telling that my son shared it- meaning it is an accurate representation in his view. When I told him I was going to use it for my Friday feature, he was very pleased.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Friday Fuzz- A Day in the Life

  1. That is an interesting concept. I imagine it takes a long time to go through all of that to put all of the different options in. It helps imagine what’s going on in their mind. Especially the ones that are so very young.

    Like

    1. To be honest, I’m not sure how I feel about a young child transitioning. Kris did tell us at age 2 that he was a boy but I had no clue. If you knew Kris, you would understand. 🙂 Helping an 18 year old transition has been hard enough!

      Like

  2. Hi Kat! I loved this link. It was very enlightening to run through the getting dressed/shopping process. Kris probably has tons of great things to share with that can help others understand this better. I would love to know what changes are necessary beyond clothing once a very firm commitment has been made. Thanks for another great post! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you for sharing! At times this is a lonely journey and I hope to reach other people who are out there to let them know that they are not alone. 🙂

      Like

      1. Kat, not only did this hopefully provide a connection to other parents, but your post helped enlightened me. I have several transgender congregants at my church, and although it’s been hard to wrap my head around, I consider myself an ally. The link was awesome cool, and helped me be even more empathetic. Ya gotta walk in somebody else’s shoes even for a moment to really empathize. And with empathy comes better ally skills. Thanks for sharing it. AND I nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Go here to find your guidelines: http://themomentsmatterblog.wordpress.com/2014/06/20/the-very-inspiring-blogger-award-for-me/ And Happy Friday to YOU!

        Liked by 1 person

Hi! I would love to hear from you!

